Everything Crackers

I deem yesterday’s graduation a great success.  Traffic actually wasn’t all that bad, the ceremony only took 2 hours, lunch was fabulous, Diego loved his present, and I was feeling so good, I even helped him move out.

And by that I mean I watched him pack, and occasionally carried things down some stairs.  The amount of trash and unwanted items littering the hallways of his dorm was mind boggling, especially since it all gets thrown out.

It got so bad, the hallways became so narrow that only one person could travel down them at once.  College kids…you’d think they’d know better.

Still, I must admit that my offering of help was an overlay for a deeper ulterior motive.  When I moved out of college last year, I wasn’t going far.  My mom lived 10 minutes from campus, and since my next closest housemate was going back to New Jersey, all of the fridge and freezer goods were mine for the taking.

With Diego and his roommates all returning to CT, the fridge and freezer fodder were once again up for grabs.  I mean, they didn’t have room in their cars for random food stuffs so I was really doing them a favor by taking that ice cream and milk and assorted jams off their hands. Ohhh yes…how I love being a good friend.  But oh how I don’t love the sunburn I got even though it was cloudy.  I suppose it was worth it though.

I posted about hummus a little while ago, and when I made it, I realized I wanted to make crackers to go along with it.  I wanted them to be light while still packing a lot of flavor.  Enter the everything cracker: a whole wheat dough rolled thinly and sprinkled with the ubiquitous bagel topping.  Maybe you need something to adorn your cheese platter this Memorial Day weekend?  Well this might be it my friends.

Everything Crackers

Adapted from How Sweet Eats

Makes 20-40 crackers, depending on how large you cut them

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp sugar

1 Tbsp cold unsalted butter

½ cup milk

1 egg, beaten

2 Tbsp poppy seeds

2 Tbsp sesame seeds

2 Tbsp minced onion

2 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp sea salt

freshly cracked black pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a food processor, pulse flours, salt and sugar until combined. Add in cold butter and pulse until mixture is combined and the butter is in course crumbs. Stream in milk while pulsing the processor until the dough forms.

Form dough into a ball with your hands and chill in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes.

After 30 minutes, flour a surface and a rolling pin, and roll out the dough until it is very thin.   Like super thin, otherwise your crackers will not be crispy.  Gently lift dough and place it on a baking sheet lined with a silicone mat or parchment paper. Don’t worry about it being a perfect rectangle.

Beat the egg in a small bowl, and brush onto dough. Sprinkle seasonings on, then lightly press to make sure they adhere.

Bake for 5 minutes, rotate pan, and bake for 5 minute more. Check crackers and bake in 3 minute intervals until crisp and golden brown. Watch carefully as they can burn quickly.  Cut them up with a large knife or a pizza wheel.

Serve with cheese, vegetables or fruit, or hummus.



Leave a comment