Pork Vindaloo

Why must the Internet flood my RSS reader with so many posts about grilling?  Damn you Memorial Day weekend and your heralding of summer grill time.

I am angry, obviously, because I do not own a grill, and am ever so jealous of those delicious char marks being paraded before my eyes.  Someday I will have steaks and pork chops that bear that quintessential mark of outdoor eating, but not this day.  Not this weekend.

So I do want I can.  And since I had some pork leftover from my moo shu pork, I decided to make a curry of sorts.  A very tasty curry, if I may.

I’d been waiting to start using the curry paste I bought ages ago from a local Indian market, so finally hearing the top pop open was music to my ears.  The rich aroma emanating from that little jar was so overwhelming, it made me want to cry.  Or maybe that was the spices irritating my tear ducts.

Either way, this curry is fabulously simple.  I paired it with some of my leftover moo shu pancakes, but serving it with rice or noodles would be great too.

Pork Vindaloo

Adapted from Food Figure

Makes 2-3 servings

1/2 lb pork tenderloin, cut into bite sized pieces
1 small onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
a thumb sized piece of ginger, minced or shredded
1 Tbsp vegetable oil
3 Tbsp red curry paste
1 cup diced tomatoes or 3/4 cup tomato sauce
3 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 tsp brown sugar
1-2 cups water
2/3 cup plain yogurt or sour cream
salt and pepper to taste

In a Dutch oven or a large skillet with high sides, add oil and cook onions over medium heat.  Cook for about 8-10 minutes or until the onions are soft and starting to get some color.  Add the garlic, ginger, and curry paste and cook for about 2 minutes.

Add the pork and cook for about 5 minutes.

Add the tomatoes or tomato sauce, brown sugar and vinegar. Add just enough water to cover. Bring to a boil and reduce the heat to a simmer. Cover and simmer for 30 minutes.

Remove the lid and turn the heat up to medium. Allow the curry to reduce for several minutes or until desired thickness. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Remove from heat and stir in the yogurt or sour cream. Serve beside or over your favorite rice, naan, noodles or on its own. Garnish with a few leafs of cilantro or parsley.

Leave a Reply

