Almond Poppy Seed Pancakes

50% chance of rain today, some of it could be heavy.  Fabulous…gym graduation here I come.  I decided to get up extra early and get a post in before I leave to sit in rush hour traffic for over an hour.

And then find a halfway decent place to park on the hilliest college campus on Earth.  Better wear my comfiest rain shoes.

Diego’s mom has a pillow, or maybe it’s a plate…either way, it says “When things are going from bad to worse, keep a cookie in your purse.”  That just resonates with me on so many levels.  I always bring snacks with me when I go out, though pancakes are a little tricky to transport.

So those are mostly for home snacking, which you all know I do quite often, and thus require a wide variety of pancake options.

I had never thought to combine poppy seeds and almonds, but this is one great fusion.  I really like poppy seeds, even if they get stuck in my teeth, and then I start chewing on one later and it tastes weird.  They lend a certain earthiness that is hard to find elsewhere.  Wouldn’t a nice stack of these babies be tasty this coming weekend?  I’ll let you decide, but I vote yes.

Brain shaped pancake.

Almond Poppy Seed Pancakes

Adapted from Cooking Classy

Makes 15 about pancakes

1 cup all-purpose flour

½ cup almond flour
2 Tbsp poppy seeds
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 ¼ cups milk
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 Tbsp vegetable oil
1 Tbsp applesauce
1 tsp almond extract
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together flour, almond flour, poppy seeds, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  In a small mixing bowl, whisk together milk, sugar, egg, vegetable oil, applesauce, almond extract and vanilla extract until evenly combined.  Pour buttermilk mixture into dry mixture and stir just until combined. The batter should be slightly lumpy (just be careful not to over-mix so you’ll have fluffy pancakes).  Grease a large skillet or griddle and set it over medium low heat.  Pour about 1/4 cup mixture at a time onto the skillet.  Flip the pancake when golden on bottom and bubbles start to form on the surface.  Cook opposite side until golden.  Transfer pancakes to a large plate and serve with your favorite toppings.

Leave a Reply

