Peach Brown Butter Scones

Going through the process of transferring this blog to another domain and host has made me feel like I know absolutely nothing about computers or the way the Internet works.  And here I was thinking I was an informed individual.

I feel like I find myself Google troubleshooting (i.e. typing how to….into Google) way too many times a day.  I guess this stuff’s not common knowledge, but geeez, it certainly is time consuming.

Especially since I have to go through every post I’ve made in the last 10 months.  Do you know how many that is?!?!  A lot.  I have to go through them all because I’m reformatting them using a WordPress plug-in called Easy Recipe.  Easy Recipe frames the recipe portion of each post, delineating it from everything else, and giving it a print page link.  That way, you can print out the recipe without having to print out the entire post and pictures/copy and paste the recipe into a word document to print it.  Nifty, eh?

So it’s for you guys that I do this.  I stare at my computer screen until my contacts stick to my dried-out eyeballs, meticulously reformatting every post.  It’s all for you.  But then I did something for me.  I made scones.  Wonderful, fluffy, peachy, brown buttery scones.  Yep, you heard me. Brown butter in a scone.  Perfection, I’m telling you.

Brown Butter Peach Scones

Adapted from Tutti Dolce

Makes 10-12 scones

5 Tbsp unsalted butter

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/3 cup sugar

2 tsp baking powder

½ tsp baking soda

¼ tsp salt

½ tsp cinnamon

1 cup peeled and diced peaches

2/3 cup buttermilk or heavy cream

1 large egg

½ tsp vanilla extract

1 Tbsp turbinado sugar, for topping

Cook butter in a heavy saucepan over medium heat, stirring constantly until it foams, turns clear, and then turns a deep brown, about 6 minutes.

Pour browned butter into a glass measuring cup and chill in the freezer until solid and chilled, about 1 ½ hours.

Preheat oven to 400°F and line a baking sheet with a silicone mat or parchment paper. Whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon in a large bowl.

Dice chilled brown butter into 1/2-inch pieces; sprinkle over flour mixture and use your fingers to mush the butter until the mixture resembles coarse meal.

Place peaches between layers of paper towels and press gently to remove moisture; add to flour mixture, folding in gently.

Whisk together buttermilk, egg, and vanilla extract in a small bowl; add to flour mixture and fold in just until moist.

Scrape the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and pat into a circle about 1” thick.  Add flour if the dough is too tacky to handle.  Cut the dough into wedges or use a biscuit cutter to cut out rounds.  Place wedges or rounds onto prepared baking sheet and sprinkle with turbinado sugar.  Bake 20 minutes or until golden.

Cool 2 minutes on baking sheet, then carefully transfer to wire rack to cool.

Leave a Reply

