Peach Tapioca Pudding & A Goodbye

This will be my last blog post.  No, it’s not because I’m getting married, it’s because when I get back from the honeymoon, I will be posting at bashfulbao.com only.  I’ve been posting on both sites to give you guys a sort of transition period, but now the time has come.

Eventually this site will no longer be a blog, and will simply forward you on to the new site.  But I’m going to wait to do that until I get back.

I shall reiterate what I said in my first post about the blog move.  If you want to continue following me through my culinary crusades (and I truly hope you do) you will have to re-subscribe on the new site.  I made nifty little buttons for you to do so.

It took me a while to think about what recipe/photos/mood to leave you all with for the next week.  I tried to stay away from peaches, I really did, but I have like 8 more recipes involving them to share and it’s already creeping into September, so I need to unload these babies…ahem.

So I picked my favorite.  I love peaches.  I love tapioca pudding.  Bam, heaven in a jar.  Did I mention I drenched mine in the caramel sauce I used in this recipe?  Did I say heaven in a jar already?

You get the idea.  And now I must prepare for this wedding thing.  Wish me luck!

Peach Tapioca Pudding

Adapted from Sunita’s World

Makes about 6 individual servings

½ cup tapioca pearls
2 cups milk
2 large, ripe peaches, peeled, stoned and cut into small pieces
5 Tbsp honey, divided use

2 Tbsp brown sugar
½ tsp cinnamon

¼ tsp nutmeg

1 cinnamon stick

In a medium saucepan, soak the tapioca pearls in the milk for one hour.

In a small saucepan, heat the peaches, cinnamon and 2 Tbsp of the honey over low heat. Stir well, cover and cook until the fruit softens, about 5 minutes. Remove from heat and set aside.

Place the pan with the tapioca soaked in milk over medium low heat along with the cinnamon stick, remaining 3 Tbsp honey and brown sugar. Bring everything to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for about 5-7 minutes, stirring constantly.

Add 3/4 of the cooked peaches and continue to cook until the tapioca pearls are completely done and the mixture has thickened, about 5-10 minutes. Keep stirring frequently.

Once the mixture has thickened, discard the cinnamon stick and spoon into bowls, jars or ramekins.  Let the pudding come to room temperature, then cool in the fridge for at least 2 hours.  Serve with remaining cooked peaches and caramel sauce.

Leave a Reply

