Chocolate Truffle Cookies

Before we dive into some seriously delicious cookies, I have an announcement.  Yesterday evening, something truly awesome happened: Izzy rolled over!  Like a little puppy.  What?  Were you expecting something bigger and more awesomely awesome than that?

It has become clear to me that this bunny is invading every cavity of my mindspace.  Anytime I talk to someone on the phone while in the same room as her, I’ll always end up talking wayyyy toooo much about what she’s doing at any given time.  Maybe it’s because she’s getting spayed soon and I’m trying to soak up the happy bunny times before she’s drowsy and grumpy?

Yeah, ok I get it.  I’m a little obsessed with my bunny.  Please don’t judge me.  Let’s add a New Year’s resolution on my list where I try to work on that.

But how can I say no to this face?!!??

Ok, cookie time.  When I set out to make a holiday cookie platter, I knew I wanted to make a chocolate cookie.  ‘But what kind?’ I thought to myself.  Thankfully, I had recently seen a recipe on Tastespotting that had really caught my eye.

And so I made them.  And boy, were they good.  Luke begged me to make some other kind of cookie and leave these behind.  They really are like little chocolate truffles.  They’re baked until just underdone, so the middle is still warm and gooey, and there’s no egg, so you don’t have to worry about getting sick.

Not that I would.  Ain’t no raw egg gonna stop me from trying every single cookie dough I make.  But I digress.  These cookies ranked second favorite by Luke’s family.  Sadly, the halved recipe made the fewest cookies, so there were very few leftovers.  Guess that means I should go make some more.  You know, if I can pull myself away from staring lovingly at my bunny.

Chocolate Truffle Cookies

Adapted from What Megan’s Making

Makes about 4 dozen

1 1/4 cups butter, room temperature
2 cups confectioners’ sugar
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup sour cream
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
2 cups chocolate chips
approx. 1/3 cup cocoa powder (for rolling)
approx. 2/3 cup confectioners’ sugar (for rolling)

Preheat oven to 325F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Sift in cocoa powder and salt, and mix well. Beat in sour cream and vanilla extract. With the mixer on low, blend in flour. Stir in chocolate chips.

Shape the dough into 1-inch balls and roll in the cocoa powder and place on baking sheet. (If the dough is hard to handle, refrigerate the dough for 30-60 minutes before shaping the cookies.) Bake for 10 minutes or until cookies are just barely set. Let cool on baking sheet for 3-5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

When cookies have reached room temperature, after about 30-45 minutes, roll in powdered sugar until completely coated. Store in an airtight container.

Note: I halved this recipe, which yielded about 20 cookies, but some of them were kind of small.  Next time I’d roll them larger.



Leave a comment