Chewy Lemon Cookies

So, I know I said I wasn’t going to pick a favorite cookie, but…I lied.  I saved the best for last because these were definitely my favorite.  Don’t let the other cookies find out.  I don’t want them to feel inferior because it’s not that they weren’t tasty.  It’s just that these cookies struck a resonance with an astonishing number of my taste buds.

While Luke was coveting the chocolate truffle cookies, I was all about the lemon cookies.  This was the only recipe I made in full to ensure that I’d have plenty of leftovers.  I realize lemon isn’t exactly a traditional Christmas flavor, but maybe I needed a break from the norm?  How many eggnog recipes did I make? (And somehow I still have a few left.)

I suppose I was craving something light, airy and citrusy.  I keep lemon and lime zest and juice in the freezer specifically for when these cravings hit.  It’s a good tactic, plus, you don’t have to worry about your citrus going bad.

Now, how to describe the texture of these cookies?  Obviously, they’re chewy.  But they’re also tender and packed with lemony goodness.  If you need a heavy dessert detox, but still want a little something, these cookies would be perfect.  Plus, they’re super easy to make.  Win, win.

Chewy Lemon Cookies

Adapted from How Sweet Eats

Makes about 20 cookies

2 cups + 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoons baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 stick ( 1/2 cup) of unsalted butter, melted and cooled

1 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 egg + 1 egg yolk, at room temperature

2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice

2 teaspoons freshly grated lemon zest/rind

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Mix flour, baking soda and salt and set aside.

In a large bowl, add cooled, melted butter and whisk sugar into it until smooth. Add in egg and egg yolk, mixing to combine, then whisk in vanilla and lemon extracts, lemon juice and lemon zest. Stir in dry ingredients, mixing until a dough forms.

Using cookie dough scooper or large spoon, scoop the dough into golf-ball sized balls and place on a baking sheet 2 inches apart. Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until middle is just set an edges are slightly golden.  Let sit for 5 minutes on the pan, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Leave a Reply

