Peanut Butter Hummus

We have our first houseguest this weekend!  It’s my dear friend Diego, spending some quality time with us before the wedding.  Which is officially less than a month away.  Holy crap.

Let’s not think about that, even though I think I’ve been pretty calm through the whole process.  Luke’s friends ask if I’ve turned into bridezilla yet.  I pretend I’m not offended.  Me, bridezilla, seriously?  Have they met me?  I am the most laid-back wedding planner ever.  We had our 4-6 week pre-wedding meeting at our venue earlier this week, and we finished the usual 2 hour meeting in one.  That’s how relaxed I am.

I feel like telling you about how un-stressed I am makes me sound more stressed.  But I swear I’m not.  Things are good.

Things are running as smooth as this hummus.  Things are as easy as making this hummus.  Things are as tasty as this hummus?  Ok, maybe that one didn’t work.  But things, and this hummus, are good.  The peanut butter taste is very subtle, and works amazingly well with the earthiness of the chickpeas.  Also, anything containing smoked paprika is automatically delicious.

I used chunky peanut butter from Trader Joe’s, where Diego and I will be heading today.  Huzzah!

Peanut Butter Hummus

Adapted from How Sweet Eats

Makes about 2 cups

1 15-ounce can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

2 heaping Tbsp natural peanut butter, nothing with added sugar

¼ cup olive oil

½ tsp salt

¼ tsp pepper

½ tsp smoked paprika

Shell chickpeas if you wish.  This will make your hummus creamier, though it does take time.  Add chickpeas to your food processor and process until finely ground. Add peanut butter and mix until combined. With the food processor on, stream in olive oil through the top. You may need to add more to meet your desired consistency. Add salt, pepper and paprika and mix.

Garnish with a sprinkling of smoked paprika if desired and serve with veggies and pita chips.

 



Leave a comment