Applesauce Pancakes

I’ve been visiting my mom for the past few days as part of my trip to CT to attend Foodstock.  Here are some random shots from my visit.

A dinner of grilled pork tenderloin and garlic green beans.

Cocoa the Cat in his bowl.

Blake the Shih Tzu, my mom was watching him for a friend.

Groundhog in the backyard!

Aren’t these lilacs gorgeous?

Please forgive me, but I need a tiny break from desserts.  We were rather inundated with it last week when we celebrated Luke’s birthday twice, so now I want to let all that deliciousness run its course.

So let’s talk about a different kind of cake.  You know, that kind that you make in a pan…or skillet.  Man I haven’t posted about pancakes in a while, quite the rarity for me, given the fact that I am a pancake snacking machine.

Is it strange that since I’ve started this blog, I have yet to remake a pancake recipe?  I’ve been snacking on a different pancake recipe every time I’ve made them for the last seven months.  Crazy.

This time I had a good reason.  This time, I actually sought out this particular recipe to use up the last of an aging jar of applesauce.  I found these pancakes to be very moist, and containing just the right amount of cinnamony apple flavor.  I bet these would be even better if some homemade applesauce were involved in the process.

Applesauce Pancakes

Adapted from The Hazel Bloom

Makes 12-15 pancakes

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour (or another cup of all-purpose flour if you want)

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 Tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp nutmeg

1 1/4 cups milk

2 large eggs

2/3 cup unsweetened applesauce

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted

In a large bowl, mix together the flours, brown sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk, applesauce, and vanilla. Stir in the melted butter.

Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, and mix just until well incorporated. Do not overmix.

Set a large skillet or griddle over a burner on medium/medium-low heat.  Pour about ¼ cup of batter for each pancake, and spread the batter around if it’s thick.  Cook until browned by both sides, and pancake is cooked through.  Serve with your favorite pancake toppings.


2 Comments on “Applesauce Pancakes”

  1. Dana S says:

    What did we name those groundhogs in the backyard last year? I think they had fantastic names…but I can’t remember

  2. bashfulbao says:

    Tyra and Butch. What should this one be called?


Leave a comment