Cherry Almond Cake

Adjusting to cooking/baking and figuring out when/where/how to shoot the results in the house has been an interesting process.  Back in the apartment, I did most of my shooting on the radiator cover in the kitchen because it was convenient, and it got good light.

Things in the house have been a little tricky, especially when we first moved in.  I keep the window shades drawn in the kitchen because the house next door (aka across the driveway, we do kind of live in a city) is being seriously renovated and I don’t need the men over there knocking down walls and such to judge me as I meticulously arrange food, photograph it, then put it away.

But of course, I had nowhere else to shoot really and I liked the look of the kitchen floors, so I started there.  Of course I forgot that there was one other obstacle that I’d never ecountered before…a pet able to roam the entire house.  And so my first floor shoot was photobombed by my rabbit.  Not fun.

Bunny photobomb.

So I decided to shoot on the porch floor, where the bunny is not allowed.  But getting certain shots on the floor is hard.  It’s great for overheads but that’s about it.  Finally, we bought a table from Ikea.  It now resides on the porch and is my official shooting table.  But I made this cake before I had the table, which is why it was shot on the kitchen island.  Which doesn’t get great light.  Thank goodness for the free version of photoshop I got for work in college.

This cherry cake was one of the first things I made in the house.  It was the perfect welcome-to-your-new-kitchen cake.  Which means it helped me figure out the temperature variations in the new oven.  Scary I know, but thankfully I didn’t burn it.  In fact, this melding of cherry and almond into a moist, sweet cake was just what I needed after moving heavy objects around all day.

Cherry Almond Cake

Adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod

Makes one 9” cake, about 10 servings

For the cake:

6 Tbsp unsalted butter, softened

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
1 ½ tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
1 cup sugar
1 large egg
½ cup buttermilk
½ tsp vanilla extract
½ tsp almond extract
1 ½ cups fresh cherries, stemmed, pitted and halved

For the almond streusel topping:

¼ cup all-purpose flour
¼ cup brown sugar
¼ cup almond paste, crumbled
2 Tbsp unsalted butter, cold and cut into small pieces
pinch of salt

For the almond glaze:

½ cup powdered sugar
¼ tsp almond extract
2 to 3 Tbsp milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 9-inch springform pan or pie plate. Set aside.

Sift flour, baking powder, and salt together into a medium bowl. Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until pale and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add in egg, buttermilk, vanilla, and almond extract. Mix until combined.  Gradually mix in the dry ingredients. Transfer batter to prepared pan and arrange cherries on top of batter.

Next make the almond streusel topping.  In a small bowl combine flour, brown sugar, almond paste, butter, and salt. Mix together with your fingers until crumbly. Sprinkle the topping evenly over the cake.

Bake cake for 10 minutes. Reduce oven temperature to 325 degrees. Bake until cake is golden brown and firm to the touch, about 50-55 minutes. Let cool in pan.

While the cake is cooling, make the glaze. In a small bowl, combine powdered sugar, almond extract, and just enough milk to make a pourable glaze. Remove cake from pan and drizzle the glaze over it, then let set for 10 minutes.  Cut and enjoy!

 

2 Comments on “Cherry Almond Cake”

  1. arthurb3 says:

    I love Bunny Photo bombs!!


Leave a Reply

