Blueberry Lemon Crumble

I have a confession to make.  I’ve been kind of holding out on you guys just a little bit, and the guilt is too much for me to take anymore.  You see, the last time my mom came to visit, she brought with her the most prodigious amount of peaches and blueberries from my favorite orchard back in CT.

I completely swooned over this mountain of produce, and immediately started divvying up the goods: some for eating, some for baking, some for cooking…and then the race was on between me and the heat of my kitchen ripening the fruit.  Who would win?

Well I did, and I just can’t keep the results to myself anymore.  The first thing I knew I wanted to make was a crumble or crisp of some kind.  Something simple that would let the natural sweetness and flavor of the berries really shine.

I also wanted a hint of tang, so I decided on a blueberry lemon crumble, baked in ramekins.  I really should bake things in ramekins more often, individual desserts are so much fun.

Anyway, this crumble fit the bill exactly and really hit the spot.  The lemon complemented the blueberries perfectly, and the crumble topping added texture and just a touch more sugar.  And butter.  But you can never have too much of that, right?

Blueberry Lemon Crumble

Adapted from The Pastry Affair

Makes 4 individual servings

¼ cup whole wheat or all-purpose flour
¼ cup rolled oats
2 Tbsp brown sugar
2 Tbsp unsalted butter, cold and cubed
zest of 1 lemon
1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 Tbsp granulated sugar
1 ½ cups blueberries, fresh or frozen

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, rolled oats, and brown sugar. Add the cold, cubed butter and, using your fingers, mush the butter into the flour until the whole mixture resembles coarse sand and holds together when squeezed. Set aside.

In another bowl, combine the lemon zest, lemon juice, sugar, and blueberries and toss.

Divide blueberries equally between four ramekins.  Sprinkle the oatmeal topping evenly over each. Place ramekins on a baking sheet in case the crumbles overflow and bake for 30-35 minutes, or until topping is browned and the crumbles are bubbly and fragrant. Let cool for ten minutes before serving (the fruit will be very hot). The crumbles may also be enjoyed at room temperature or chilled (or with a scoop of vanilla ice cream or a dollop of whipped cream).

 

Leave a Reply

