Salted Caramel Pudding

Remember when I couldn’t stop gushing about Izzy being a real house bunny?  Oh, I never stopped, you say?  Even on non-hop days?  Oops.  Well, let me give you an update on her status anyway.  As you can see, she’s been on the couch.  At first, I was thrilled.  I had fantasies of reading a book with a little bunny curled up in my lap.  Yeah, like that will ever happen.  She did sit on me for a while once though!  Anyway, one time she was sitting on the couch, and all of a sudden, she just started peeing.  I was shocked and sad.  So now her couch privileges have been revoked.

She is however allowed on the second floor when we’re home as the baby gate we use to block the stairs likes to fall over of its own volition way too often.  She never stays up there too long, as I think she knows it’s far away from her food.

Ok, on to the food portion of this post.  I’m sorry guys, I don’t know about you all, but I need to take a quick break from carb on carb action.  And since it’s still kind of hot outside, let’s make some pudding.

You might not be able to tell from this blog, but I very much enjoy pudding.  While my first attempts at making the stuff from scratch yielded something closer to a milkshake, I have since improved my skills and my ability to use cornstarch, the universal thickener.

It’s getting easier for me to troubleshoot recipes, and this has led me to expand my pudding horizons into flavors like salted caramel.  Which is one of my favorite things ever.

This pudding is smooth and luscious, and that caramel flavor cannot be beat.  So when you’re in a carb coma and need to switch it up, this is the way to go.

Salted Caramel Pudding

Adapted from Portuguese Girl Cooks

Makes 6-8 individual servings

3 cups whole or 2% milk, divided
¼ cup cornstarch
¾ dark brown sugar, packed
¾ cup water
5 large egg yolks
3 Tbsp unsalted butter
1 tsp kosher salt

In a small bowl, whisk ½ cup milk and cornstarch until combined. Set aside.  In a medium saucepan, heat the remaining 2 ½ cups milk until simmering. Remove from heat and set aside.  In a medium bowl, whisk egg yolks for about 3 minutes until smooth.
To make the caramel, stir the brown sugar and water in small saucepan over medium heat until the sugar is dissolved. Increase the heat, and cook without stirring until an instant read thermometer reads 210 – 220 degrees F. Remove from heat.  Gradually whisk in the hot milk into the eggs, then the cornstarch.  Slowly whisk in the caramel. Return the mixture to the saucepan and whisk constantly over medium heat, until the mixture thickens and a thermometer registers 175 degrees F, about 3 minutes. Remove from heat; whisk in the butter and salt. Pour through a sieve into ramekins or mason jars.  Cover and chill for 4 to 5 hours or until set.

 

Leave a Reply

