Caramel Chocolate Chip Cookie Butter Cake

Earlier this week I promised you all a story.  I mentioned in passing that over last weekend, Luke and I spent a little time in the backyard getting our golf swing on.

As I mentioned, I was the one teaching him.  Now you know something a lot of people don’t know about me.  I was once a collegiate golfer.  For one year.  But it still counts!  I started golfing my sophomore year of high school, and ended up captain my senior year.  Impressive, right?

Yeah, well…I was the only senior and there were only four girls on the team, so, I don’t bring it up much.  Playing in college kind of ruined it for me because our coach only cared about the best players (which I was not).  We’d be at practice, and I’d be consistently hooking the ball, so the coach would watch me once or twice, give some lame piece of advice and then move on.  So then I’d start slicing.  But he’d never come back around again.  For the record: it’s really hard to correct your own swing.  It’s much easier to correct someone else since you can see their body’s movements.

I did my best with Luke.  He needs a lot of practice, but I think he has potential.  He’s got it in his head that if he wants to start a business some day, he’s gotta know how to play golf.  Fair enough.  Oh, and I have one more announcement before I move on to the cake.  Izzy was up roaming around on the couch no less than three times yesterday!  I knew she could do it.  Now all I have to do is train her to sit on my lap.  (It’s harder than it sounds, girlfriend is not the cuddling type.)

So I’ll cuddle some cake instead.  And by cuddle, I mean with my mouth, so effectively, that translates to eating.  This cake combines some of my all-time favorite flavors together: caramel, chocolate and cookie butter.  Don’t act like you don’t know what cookie butter is.  If you really don’t know, google it, and then go to Trader Joe’s and buy a jar because it’s amazing.  It gives the cake a slight caramel-y flavor, which is complemented nicely by the caramel glaze.  Add some chocolate chips, and you’ve got yourself one mighty fine dessert.

Caramel Chocolate Chip Cookie Butter Cake

Adapted from Sugar Plum

Makes one 8” round cake

For the cake:

3 Tbsp unsalted butter, softened
3 Tbsp cookie butter
½ cup sugar
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 ½ tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
¼ tsp salt
1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup milk

1 cup mini chocolate chips

For the caramel glaze:

¼  cup firmly packed light brown sugar
2 Tbsp unsalted butter
1 Tbsp milk

Heat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease an 8” round cake pan with cooking spray.

First make the cake.  In a large bowl, beat together butter, cookie butter and sugar until creamy.  Beat in egg, vanilla, baking powder, baking soda and salt until well combined.  Beat in flour, alternating with the milk until just combined.  Beat in chocolate chips until combined.  Scrape batter into the prepared pan.  Bake for 25 minutes, or until golden brown, and a toothpick inserted into cake comes out with moist crumbs attached.  Cool 10 minutes before running a knife around the outside edge and inverting cake onto a platter.

While the cake is cooling, make the caramel.  Combine the brown sugar, milk, and butter in a small saucepan.  Bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring until the sugar dissolves. When the sugar is bubbling vigorously and is a medium amber color, remove from heat.  Poke holes all over the cake with a toothpick or chopstick, then pour the caramel glaze over the top.  Let set, and serve!

 

 

Leave a Reply

