Peanut Butter & Jelly Coffee Cake

I am thoroughly convinced that I have the best fiancé on the planet.  Yesterday he emailed me a link to a line of clothing he thought I might like.  If you should know one thing about me and clothing it’s this: I hate shopping.  I loathe, despise, abhor it.  If I do ever go shopping, I have to be in the right mood, otherwise, well, let’s just hope I went alone.

I had to admit though, some of the dresses on the site were cute.  Another thing you should know about me: I am a bargain shopper to the core.  So when I saw that those cute dresses were outside of what I felt comfortable paying, I tried to put my foot down and say no.  The conversation went like this.

“Luuuuuuke (I can’t felt but feel like Aunt Beru everytime I say his name like this), these dresses are tooo expensive.”

“But you need something to wear to the rehearsal dinner.”

“I know…but can’t we go to like Marshall’s or something.”

“You are not getting your rehearsal dinner dress at Marshall’s.  Even if you go to the mall, you probably won’t find a good dress at this price.”

“But there are two I really like, and I can’t decide between them…”

“Then get both.”

“At that price?!?!  Two!??!!  Are you insane?!!?!”

“Sweetie, either you get them now, or I’ll buy them for you tomorrow.” Hands over his credit card.  See what I mean?  You’d think I would have baked him something special to show my gratitude.  Well, I’ll get to that soon.  This one’s got my name written all over it, since someone says they don’t like coffee cake.

I’ll leave that comment alone for now, even though I don’t think it’s humanly possible.  This coffee cake is a spectacular presentation of the peanut butter and jelly variety.  A peanut butter flavored cake gets kissed by a swirl of grape jam and topped with a crunchy peanut butter crumble.

It’s THE breakfast for the p& j enthusiast.  (i.e. me)

Peanut Butter & Jelly Coffee Cake

Adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod

Makes one 8×8” pan

For the cake:

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
¼ tsp baking soda
¼ tsp salt
¼ cup creamy peanut butter
2 Tbsp unsalted butter, at room temperature
½ cup light brown sugar
1 large egg
½ tsp vanilla extract
½ cup buttermilk
½ cup grape jelly (or jelly of your choice)

For the Peanut Butter Streusel Topping:

½ cup all-purpose flour
½ cup light brown sugar
¼ cup crunchy peanut butter

¼ cup honey roasted peanuts, chopped
2 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray an 8×8 baking pan with cooking spray and set aside.

First, make the peanut butter streusel topping. In a medium bowl, combine the flour and brown sugar. Mix with a spoon until there are no big brown sugar clumps. Add the peanut butter, melted butter and chopped peanuts, stirring until the mixture is crumbly. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt together. In a large bowl, beat the peanut butter and butter together until creamy and smooth, about 3 minutes. Add the brown sugar and mix until creamy. Add the egg and vanilla extract.  Alternately add the dry ingredients and buttermilk, beginning and ending with the flour mixture. Don’t over mix; beat until just combined.

Spread the batter evenly in the prepared pan. Spoon grape jelly evenly over the cake. Take a toothpick or butter knife and gently swirl in the jelly. Sprinkle the peanut butter streusel over the cake. Bake for 30 minutes, or until the cake is golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Transfer the cake to a wire cooling rack and cool completely. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

