Peach Poppy Seed Muffins

These muffins and I go wayyyyy back.  Like, back before I knew how to operate an oven and my “baking experience” was licking the brownie batter covered spoon.  This is a recipe passed down to me by my darling mother.

I know you’ve heard of lemon poppy seed muffins.  I’ve even posted about them.  But peach poppy seed?  Yes, friends, OH YES.

I’m not sure where the idea for these muffins originated (I guess I should ask my mom) but I am sure about how much my brother and I loved them.  I recall eating them straight from the freezer once or twice because I was worried that the monstrous black hole that was my growing teenage brother would eat them all before I had managed a single taste.

They taste better thawed out for the record, though they do freeze beautifully.  I love the tops of these muffins.  Such a deep golden brown, and crispy on the edges.  It pairs so wonderfully with the moist, tender interior that contains subtle undertones of peachy goodness.

My mom’s original recipe calls for peach baby food.  I decided to use pureed peaches instead, and they tasted exactly the same.  If you’re looking for a way to use up a summer peach or two, might I proffer these muffins as a solution?

Peach Poppy Seed Muffins

Adapted from my mom’s recipe

Makes 12 muffins

½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened

1 cup sugar

2 large eggs

½ tsp vanilla extract

1 ¼ cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

¼ tsp salt

3 Tbsp poppy seeds

¾ cup (6 oz) pureed peaches

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease a 12-cup muffin tin and set aside.

In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar.  Add in the eggs, one at a time, stirring after each addition.  Finally stir in the vanilla.

Add the flour, baking soda and salt to the mixture and stir to combine.  Fold in the poppy seeds and peach puree.  Scoop the batter into the prepared muffin cups, filling until about 2/3 full.  Bake for 20-25 mins, or until the tops are golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.  Transfer the pan to a wire rack to cool completely.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

