Strawberry Peach Pancakes

This whole gradual move process is interesting, but let me say that I’ll be incredibly happy once Saturday rolls around and we are officially of one residence.  Even though we technically won’t be until the end of the month when our lease is up.

But we’ll only have possessions in one place, which is the important part.  Realizing I couldn’t make muffins this morning because my muffin pan is already at the house was very upsetting.  So I made pancakes instead.

Happy, happy pancakes.  Pancakes full of fresh summer fruit.  I may have mentioned it before, but summer produce is the only thing the season has going for it in my eyes.  I mean, I got a sunburn yesterday down my left arm from sitting in traffic.  How does that happen?! Do car windows magnify the sun’s rays or something?  This sunburn is so awkward, not to mention uncomfortable.

Damn you summer.  Damn you and your hot sun.  The only thing it’s good for is feeding peach trees and strawberry plants.  And blueberry bushes, and cherry, nectarine, plum and apricot trees.  Ok, time to stop thinking about fruit and how I want to plant like 8 different fruit trees/bushes in our new backyard.

My griddle and I had a disagreement…..

That wouldn’t look weird, and the plants totally wouldn’t strangle each other as they vie for sunlight.  It’s definitely happening at the next house though.

Then all my delicious home-grown fresh fruit can be baked into pancakes.  Until that day, these will suffice.  These pancakes are like a bright, albeit non-burning ray of sunshine.  I swear pancakes just make mornings better.

Strawberry Peach Pancakes

Adapted from The Pastry Affair

Makes 12-16 pancakes

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
1 Tbsp baking powder
Pinch of salt
1 large egg
1 cup milk
3 Tbsp honey
2 Tbsp butter, melted
1 cup sliced strawberries

1 medium peach or 1 cup canned peaches, chopped into bits

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Whisk the egg, milk, honey and butter together in a small bowl.  Make a well in the flour with a spatula and pour in the wet ingredients. Mix until just combined. Fold in the strawberries and peaches.

Pour about ¼ cup of batter onto a heated griddle and cook each side until lightly browned. The batter may look slightly “doughy” when fully cooked; this is just a result of the moisture in the fruit.  Serve with your favorite pancake toppings.

2 Comments on “Strawberry Peach Pancakes”

  1. […] They’re just so great and I don’t make enough of them.  I opened a 29oz can of peaches to make these pancakes, so I had to find other ways to use […]

  2. […] They’re just so great and I don’t make enough of them.  I opened a 29oz can of peaches to make these pancakes, so I had to find other ways to use […]


Leave a Reply

