Minted Pea Hummus

My new card reader finally arrived in the mail yesterday.  At first I was ecstatic, until I hooked it up to my computer and stared at the rows and rows of photos I needed to go through.  Moving them onto my computer was ridiculous.  By the time I was done, I couldn’t even see my desktop background anymore.

Maybe I shouldn’t take so many photos?  But I can’t help it.  Do you guys think there are too many photos on the blog?  I always take a lot of shots to make sure that I at least get a few good ones, since looking at them directly on the camera only gives me a sense of what the lighting of the shot is like.

Perhaps I am too attached to my photos and I feel bad moving them to the trash can after I worked so hard to take them.  *Sigh* Such is life as a food blogger.

I guess I wanted a break from “traditional” hummus (hummus is technically supposed to be made from chickpeas) and broke out of the mold with peas.  Peas are one of my favorite vegetables (and Luke’s least favorite…go figure) so I’m trying to eat them without incorporating them into a meal that would make him scoff.

It’s not easy being green…it’s delicious!

This “hummus” is a cool and refreshing snack (after it’s done time in the fridge) thanks to the combination of peas and mint.  Thanks for the mint Mom!  So if you’re looking for an alternative to traditional hummus, (for other chickpea haters, who don’t hate peas) this would be a great substitute.

Minted Pea Hummus

Adapted from Simply Recipes

Makes about 2 cups

1 Tbsp olive oil

1/2 cup chopped onion

2 cups shelled peas, fresh or frozen

3/4 cup water

2 Tbsp tahini

3 Tbsp chopped fresh mint (spearmint)

2 Tbsp sour cream

½ tsp black pepper

Salt to taste

Heat the olive oil in a small skillet over medium heat. Add the chopped onion and sauté until soft and translucent, but not browned, about 4-5 minutes. Add the peas and the water, cover and bring to a boil. Let this cook 5 minutes, then drain the peas and onions.

Put the peas and onions into the bowl of a food processor and add all the remaining ingredients. Pulse until you have a rough purée. Serve chilled and enjoy!

One Comment on “Minted Pea Hummus”

  1. […] Minted Pea Hummus « BashfulbaoJul 6, 2012 … So if you’re looking for an alternative to traditional hummus, (for other chickpea haters, who don’t hate peas) this would be a great substitute. […]


Leave a Reply

