Pineapple Ricotta Pie

Izzy was very confused and frightened by the amount of loud noises that surrounded our apartment last night.  Between random fireworks and a few thunderstorms, poor bunny say unhappily in her cage staring at me, her bulging eyes begging for it to stop.

Poor thing.  I’d offer her some condolence pie, but that probably wouldn’t be a good idea.  We had dinner with Luke’s parents last night, and I developed a headache as we left, so I wasn’t too happy with all the noise either.  Getting a migraine on the night of July 4th must suck.  Luckily mine was just a common headache.

Still, it was not fun.  I thought about burying my head in this pie, but then realized that might ruin the pie for others (including myself later on) so I re-thought my plan.  Instead Luke and I watched Independence Day.  Suiting, no?

Ok, so more about this pie.  Like I mentioned earlier, I was looking for ways to use up extra ricotta (which generally means searching ‘ricotta’ on foodgawker) when I came across this recipe.

I was intrigued.  A pineapple ricotta filling?  Could it be good?  Would it be good?  I love pineapple, and I like baked ricotta, so it stood to reason that this pie and I would get along just fine.

Let me tell you, this pie exceeded all my expectations.  The filling was sweet, but not overwhelmingly so, the ricotta mellowing the pineapple flavor, but leaving enough to be light and fresh.

Extra filling gets baked too!

If I have leftover ricotta again someday, I am sooo making this pie again.

Pineapple Ricotta Pie

Adapted from Buff Chickpea

Makes one 9” pie, about 12 servings

For the crust:

1 ¼ cups all-purpose flour

½ tsp salt

1 tsp sugar

½ cup (one stick) chilled unsalted butter, cut into pieces

1/8- ¼ cup ice water

For the filling:

1 pound (2 cups) ricotta cheese
1 cup heavy cream
1 cup sugar
1 Tbsp cornstarch
1/2 Tbsp plus 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3 large eggs
1 (20-ounce) can of crushed pineapple (drained)
1/4 tsp cinnamon for dusting

Place the flour, salt, and sugar in the bowl of a food processor, and process for a few seconds to combine. Add the butter, and process until the mixture resembles coarse meal, about 10 seconds. With the machine running, add the ice water in a slow, steady stream, through the feed tube, just until the dough holds together. Do not process for more than 30 seconds.

Turn the dough out onto a work surface and place on a sheet of plastic wrap. Flatten, and form a disc. Wrap, and refrigerate at least 1 hour before using.

Place the pineapple in a mesh strainer set over a bowl for at least 1 ½ hours, or preferably overnight. Discard the liquids. This will create a thicker pie filling and keep the crust crispier.

Add the ricotta to a large mixing bowl, and beat it smooth with an electric mixer. Beat in the heavy cream, sugar, cornstarch, and vanilla. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, making sure the texture is smooth. Finally, stir in the pineapple.

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees F, with a rack set in the lower third of the oven.

Remove the dough from the refrigerator. Roll it out on a lightly floured surface into a 10-inch circle. Place the dough round in a greased pie plate, and freeze for 15 minutes.

After the fifteen minutes has passed, remove the pie plate from the freezer, and pour the filling right to the top, leaving just a bit of room for the filling to puff up. Sprinkle the top of the pie with ground cinnamon. If you have some extra filling left over, as I did, you can pour it into a ramekin for a crustless version, and follow the same baking instructions.

Bake the pie at 425 for 15 minutes, then lower the heat to 350 degrees and bake another 30 minutes. The filling should be slightly puffed, golden, and set, not jiggly. Remove from the oven and let cool on a rack. Serve at room temperature or chilled.

Leave a Reply

