Mom’s Blueberry Coffee Cake

Oh July, I’m going to be honest with you.  There is only one reason that allows me to tolerate your ridiculous heat and humidity, and that is blueberry season.

It seems like every year I’ve found myself in the midst of blueberry patch, the ever familiar “plunk” as the berries hit the bottom of my container a symphony of summertime joy.

The joy could also be from my mouthful of ripe berries, too delicious to even make it into my basket.  Blueberries have always been my favorite berry; both bite sized and devoid of hard seeds that lodge themselves in my teeth.

Yep, blueberries have it all.  A baked good containing blueberries will always make me swoon, but this one stands above all others.  Call it nostalgia, call it sentimentality.  I just happen to think my mom makes a damn good blueberry coffee cake.

I’m not alone in the sentiment.  She entered it last fall in the local fair, and it won a first place ribbon.  Of course I’ve known it was a winner since the first time I tried it, and have loved it ever since.  I’m so glad to be able to share the recipe with all of you, it’s quite simple, and the results are incredible.

Mom’s Blueberry Coffee Cake

Recipe via My Mom

Makes one 9” or (7×11”) square pan

¾ cup sugar

¼ cup (half a stick) unsalted butter, softened

1 large egg

½ cup milk

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

2 cups fresh or thawed frozen blueberries

For the crumb topping:

1 cup packed brown sugar

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

1 tsp cinnamon

¼ cup (half a stick) unsalted butter, cold and cut into pieces

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  Grease a 9” or 7×11” baking pan and set aside.  In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, then add the egg and milk and stir to combine.  Sift in dry ingredients; the batter will be stiff.  Fold in blueberries.  Spread the batter into the prepared pan.

To make the crumb topping, combine first three ingredients in a medium bowl and whisk to combine.  Massage the butter pieces into the mixture with your fingertips until clumps the size of peas start to form.  Sprinkle the topping over the batter, making sure it is evenly covered.  Cover the pan with aluminum foil and bake for 20 minutes.  Remove the foil and bake for another 20-25 minutes or until crust is a deep, golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.  Transfer to wire rack and allow to cool completely.  This coffee cake is best enjoyed at room temperature and will keep in an air-tight container for up to a week.

2 Comments on “Mom’s Blueberry Coffee Cake”

  1. ally says:

    mom’s recipes are always the best, aren’t they?!
    xo
    http://allykayler.blogspot.ca/


Leave a Reply

