Herb & Cheese Frittata

We officially kind of have a house.  Technically the house isn’t completely ours yet because of slow processing on the bank’s end that led our 10am closing to take place at 5pm.  As such, the deed work was not completed in time, so we won’t get the deeds and keys until Monday.

My herbs

Our official move-in day isn’t until the 14th anyway, so this very minor hiccup really isn’t a problem.  I felt a little awkward at the closing though because I didn’t actually have to be there.  Luke is the sole purchaser of the house since we aren’t married yet and buying it jointly would have meant adding my student loan debt would have affected our financing options.  Ew.

So my name is nowhere to be found.  But I’ll get added on after the wedding, so that’s exciting…I guess.  What was exciting was the walk-through we did of the house before going to the closing meeting.  It’s such a cute house, I can’t wait to move in!

Now I just need to start packing, which also means trying to empty out the fridge, freezer and pantry.  I’m realistic; I know I can’t use up everything, but I can do my best to only buy groceries we absolutely need for the next two weeks, and make meals like this frittata, that use up extra ingredients lying around.

Frittatas are wonderfully versatile in that you can pretty much throw in whatever meats, vegetables, cheeses or herbs that need to be used up.  Make sure of course that your meats and veggies are cooked properly first.  I just wanted to use up some scallions, cheese and herbs.  Mission accomplished.  Now on to the pantry…

Herb & Cheese Frittata

Adapted from Cookie and Kate

Makes one 9” frittata, about 6 servings

6 eggs

½ -1 cup of shredded cheese (I used Monterey jack)

2 Tbsp milk

Vegetables and spices of your choice

I used scallions, shiitake mushrooms, a handful of mixed fresh herbs, salt & pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Grease a 9-inch springform pan or 9-inch square baking dish or 9” oven proof skillet.

In a large bowl, whisk together eggs, cheese, milk, vegetables and seasonings.  Pour the mixture into the prepared pan.

Bake until golden and puffy and the center feels firm and springy, about 25 minutes or more.  Transfer to a wire rack to cool and serve warm.

2 Comments on “Herb & Cheese Frittata”

  1. Congrats on the house & good looking frittata…makes me hungry!


Leave a Reply

