Black Beans & Rice

It’s about to get really hot around these parts for the next few days, so I’m hoping I’ll be seeing a lot of this.

Check out that chunk of naked belly…I guess it never grew back after she was spayed.

I was on the phone when she flopped over, and I had to kindly ask dear KA on the other end to hang on just a second because I needed to take some cute bunny photos ASAP.  I think she understood.

I have talked about my BFF Diego before.  I may or may not have posted embarrassing photos of us as children (and yes, there is an entire facebook album devoted to that very thing).  We’ve known each other since age 3, so of course there has been time to accumulate a lot of photos.

We spent so much time together if felt like we were practically siblings.  Diego’s mom refers to me as her American daughter.  I am proud to have been “adopted” if only for the awesome Hispanic meals I enjoyed in their household.

Rice and beans will always be one of my most favorite Hispanic dishes.  It’s so simple, but incredibly flavorful and filling.  While I doubt I’ll ever be able to replicate it perfectly, this, in my opinion, is a pretty good attempt, and even Luke who “doesn’t really like legumes” (I’m paraphrasing here…not sure he knows what a legume is) enjoyed it.

Black Beans & Rice

Adapted from Bon Appetit January 2012

Makes about 2-3 servings

1 small onion, diced

½ cup green bell pepper, finely diced

2 Tbsp olive oil

3 garlic cloves, minced

½ tsp chili powder

½ tsp ground coriander

¾ tsp cumin

1½ cups chicken broth

one 19oz can black beans (I used Progresso)

salt, pepper, and lime juice

2 cups cooked brown or white rice

queso fresco and/or cilantro for garnish

Combine the onion, bell pepper, and oil in a large skillet.  Cook over medium heat, stirring often, until completely softened, about 6-7 minutes.  Add garlic and next 3 ingredients; stir constantly for 2 minutes.  Stir in broth and beans; bring to a boil.

Reduce heat to medium; simmer briskly, mashing some of the beans with the back of a spoon and stirring often, until sauce is thickened, 8-10 minutes.  Season with salt, pepper and a little lime juice.  Divide rice and beans among plates and garnish if desired. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

