Flourless Chocolate Cake

Yesterday morning I took the GRE, and it feels like a weight has been lifted.  I am so happy to have another thing out of the way.  Also, you can view your unofficial score when the test is over since it’s done via computer, and I must say that I’m pretty happy with how I did.  Double weight has been lifted.

After I finished the test, (it only took about 4 hours) I ran back to the apartment to grab the baked goods that were due in the office that day for a birthday.  I had to bake everything ahead of time since I knew I wasn’t making anything the morning of, but I planned it well.

The birthday request was chocolate, and ever since I bought a 10 lb (oh yes, 10 pounds, not ounces) of Guittard dark chocolate, I have wanted to make a flourless chocolate cake.  You know, one of those dense, rich tortes that’s practically fudge in cake form but sooo much better?  Well, I finally made one.

And it was intense in all the right ways.  I am always sad though that I can never take good photos of cakes I bring into the office, obviously because I can’t cut into them, so I can’t style a piece with the rest of the cake as a background prop…which totally reminds me of this post I just saw on Eat The Love.  See #24.

Photos under the florescent office lights just don’t look nearly as good as those with natural light.  But still, this cake is amazing no matter what lighting you put it under.  It has the silkiest consistency paired with a deep chocolate flavor that is absolutely sinful.  But wonderful.  I think I need to make another just for Luke and me.

Flourless Chocolate Cake

Adapted from Ready For Dessert

Makes one 9” round cake, about 10-12 servings

10 ounces bittersweet chocolate, roughly chopped

½ cup (1 stick) salted butter, cut into pieces

1 tsp espresso powder

½ tsp vanilla extract

6 large eggs, separated

¼ cup plus 2 Tbsp sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease a 9” springform pan and set aside.  In a large heatproof bowl, combine the chocolate, butter and espresso powder.  Set the bowl over a pan of simmering water and stir occasionally until the mixture is melted and smooth.  Remove the bowl from the heat and stir in the vanilla.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the egg yolks and ¼ cup sugar until the mixture is light and creamy, about 3 minutes.

In another medium/large bowl, beat the egg whites with an electric hand mixer on low speed until they begin to hold their shape.  Add the remaining 2 Tbsp sugar gradually and beat on high until the whites hold soft peaks.

Fold the beaten egg yolks into the melted chocolate mixture, then fold in half of the egg whites.  Fold in the remaining whites, mixing just until there are no visible streaks of egg whites.  Make sure you don’t overfold.

Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and bake until the cake feels as though it’s just barely set in the center, about 25 minutes.  Let cool completely before running a knife around the edges of the pan.  Release the sides of the pan and dust the cake with powdered sugar if desired.  The cake will last for up to 3 days stored in an air-tight container at room temperature.

Leave a Reply

