Key Lime Pie

Let’s call this post: The different angles of key lime pie.  Because that’s pretty much all I can give you from the photos.

I made this pie as a request from my mom for Mother’s Day, and as such, could not cut into it before delivery.  The delivery process also required a two-hour car ride with a bunny-filled cat carrier on my lap, so piping on awesome whipped cream decorations was out of the question too.  Unless I wanted whipped cream ending up in random corners of Luke’s car.

Which I didn’t.  So I give you a plain pie.  With a funny bubble.  What is up with that?  It’s like a pie belly button or something.  Every time I look at it, I want to poke it.  I can feel my finger being drawn towards the computer screen.  Luckily, I didn’t poke the actual pie, and it made it to my mom’s house safe and sound.

I’ve posted about key lime pie before here on Bashful Bao, but this is the traditional version, using egg yolks, lime juice and zest and sweetened condensed milk for the filling.  My other version also incorporated egg whites, leading to a lighter, airier filling.  This is the version most people think of when key lime pie comes to mind, though I think both versions are equally tasty.

Key Lime Pie

Adapted from Brown Eyed Baker

Makes one 9” pie (10 or so servings)

For the crust:

9 graham crackers, crushed into crumbs (about 1 cup cracker crumbs)
2 Tbsp sugar
5 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted

For the filling:

4 tsp grated lime zest
4 large egg yolks
1 (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
½ cup fresh lime juice

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.

To make the crust, stir together the graham cracker crumbs and the granulated sugar in a medium bowl. While stirring and mixing continuously with a fork, slowly drizzle the melted butter into the graham cracker and sugar mixture until evenly combined.  Transfer the crumbs to a 9-inch pie plate and evenly press the crumbs into the pie plate with your fingers. Bake the crust until it is fragrant and beginning to brown, about 15 minutes; transfer to a wire rack to cool to room temperature.

To make the filling, whisk the lime zest and egg yolks together in a medium bowl for 2 minutes. Whisk in the sweetened condensed milk, then the lime juice. Set aside at to thicken while the crust cools.

Once the crust has cooled to room temperature, pour the lime filling into the crust. Bake until the center is set, but still wiggly when jiggled, 15 to 17 minutes. Return the pie to a wire rack and cool to room temperature. Refrigerate until well-chilled, at least 3 hours.  Garnish with whipped cream if desired.  Cover pie and store in the fridge for up to 5 days.

Leave a Reply

