Pumpkin Crepes

I almost wasn’t going to post today because of a late night out, but then I remembered that it’s Wednesday, and there’s no way I could deprive you all of a Hop Day with Izzy.  I mean, look at that bunny face and paws.

OMG, I love this bunny.

I know, late night out on a Tuesday?  Well, was for a good reason, I assume you.  We didn’t get back until 11 or so, and I normally start writing my posts the night before, so this one is coming at you fresh, straight from my fingers.

Crepes might seem like a challenging food to make, but they’re really quite simple once you get the swirling technique down.

All you need to make crepes is a 10” or 12” non-stick skillet and some wrist action.  No crepe pan required.

Crepe batter contains a higher liquid to dry ingredient ratio than pancake batter because you want to be able to spread it around the pan quickly before it sets and cooks.  After all, a crepe is just a really thin pancake.

This recipe includes pumpkin puree to give the crepes awesome color and great flavor.  Pumpkin can also lend itself to savory dishes, so if you wanted to make dinner crepes out of these, I’m sure it would work well.

I made them to use up the leftover white chocolate pastry cream from this cake, and it was a great combo.

Pumpkin Crepes

Adapted from Judicial Peach

Makes about 20-25 crepes

5 large eggs
2 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted
2 cups milk
1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup whole wheat flour (or more all-purpose
3 Tbsp sugar
1 tsp salt
1 cup pumpkin puree
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp cloves
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Whisk together all of the ingredients for the batter, making sure to get rid of large clumps.  Let the batter rest for about an hour in the fridge. Set a large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat, and once it is properly heated (about 2 minutes) drop 3-4 tablespoons of batter (I like to use a soup ladle) and swirl the skillet quickly to coat. When browned, turn the crepe over with a plastic spatula and cook for another minute. Allow the crepe to cool on a cooling rack or plate.  Repeat this process using all the batter and serve with your favorite crepe fillings!

Leave a Reply

