Beef Teriyaki

Finally, I get around the infamous grill pan post.  I know it’s taken me a while, but since I make so many meals/desserts/snacks/breads etc. to share with you all, I actually have so many photos that I’m posting about a month behind.

I know, it’s a strange fallacy that everything I post here I’m currently eating in my apartment, but I did have it at some point recently, so you can still trust my judgment.

Now, onto the beef.  I made this for Luke’s birthday, since I always make some kind of beef dish as his “special” meal, and we were very happy with how this turned out.  Minus the whole cleaning catastrophe.

All the char bits hardened onto my cast iron grill pan, and I guess it wasn’t seasoned well enough because those bits stuck on hard, and I’m now very apprehensive about using it again.  I say just wait until we move into the new house and get a proper grill.

The man plate.

Anyway, this beef tastes just like the teriyaki beef strips you get from take-out Chinese places (which I do love so much despite my normal ambivalence towards American Chinese food.)  The glaze is a perfect blend of sweet and savory, and I wanted to pour it on everything.  I served the beef over thin egg noodles and mushrooms, which I stir-fried with some of the extra sauce.  Luke dubbed it one of his best birthday meals.  I think that means it’s a winner!

Beef Teriyaki

Adapted from Tracey’s Culinary Adventures

Makes 3-4 servings

For the steak:

1 lb flank steak, trimmed of excess fat
1/6 cup soy sauce
2 Tbsp mirin (or rice wine)
1 Tbsp canola oil
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 1/2 tsp grated fresh ginger
1 1/2 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp orange zest (I omitted this)
1 scallion, chopped, separated

For the sauce:

1/6 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup sake or vermouth
1/4 cup mirin (or rice wine)
1/2 tsp grated fresh ginger
1/2 tsp cornstarch

Cut your steak into inch wide strips, then cut the strips into pieces about 4 inches long.

Put the soy sauce, mirin, canola oil, garlic, ginger, sugar, orange zest and the white parts of the scallion in a resealable plastic bag. Shake to combine. Add the meat, press out the air and seal the bag. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes (but no more than an hour), flipping the bag every 15 minutes to make sure the marinade coats evenly.

Preheat your grill to medium-high heat (400-450 F). Oil the grates lightly.  Or, if using a grill pan, place the pan over two burners set to medium high heat and grease the ridges.

While the grill/burners preheat, make the sauce. Combine all of the ingredients in a small saucepan. Bring the mixture to a boil over medium heat, whisking occasionally, then reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer until the sauce is syrupy, about 12 minutes. The sauce should be reduced to about 1/2 cup. Transfer all but 2 tablespoons of the sauce to a small bowl and set aside for serving.  (I set aside half so I could stir fry noodles.)

Remove the meat from the marinade and pat it dry with paper towels. Place the meat on the grill or grill pan and cook on the first side for about 3 minutes, or until well seared. Flip the steak and cook on the second side for 3 more minutes. Use half of the reserved 2 tablespoons of sauce to brush the top of the meat, then flip and cook for 30 seconds. Brush the second side of the meat with the remaining tablespoon of sauce, flip and cook for 30 seconds longer. Transfer the meat to a plate and let rest for 5 minutes.

Garnish with the green parts of the scallion and serve with the reserved sauce over noodles or rice.

One Comment on “Beef Teriyaki”

  1. […] out the air and seal the bag. Refrigerate for at least 30 … … See the rest here: Beef Teriyaki « Bashfulbao ← Coconut Flour Zucchini Muffins – Trading Up Downtown Spicy Sesame Noodles With […]


Leave a Reply

