Chocolate Glazed Chocolate Chip Donuts

Yes, I know, we have the cutest bunny ever.

I’ve been waiting to share this picture with you guys ever since Izzy struck this pose last Wednesday morning, like 2 hours after I posted.  I’m not sure how this could possibly be comfortable, but it sure makes for a great photo 🙂

If only the sweet visage of a cute bunny could or chocolate glazed donuts cure all my ails.  I caught a cold a few days ago (yep…gotta love those summer onset colds).

My nose is an unsightly shade of pink from excessive nose blowing, and at all times it feels like half of my face is puffed out from congestion and sinus pressure.

Luke says now I know what spring allergy sufferers feel like, but I am not amused.  I think having a cold during the summer is even worse than during its “normal” season because I may be craving soup and tea and other such comforts, but somehow I think eating a meal that would cause excessive sweating might not be so good right now.

So I’ll stick to that other magical comfort food: chocolate.  These donuts are fully of chocolate-y goodness without being overwhelming and they look cute to boot.  I really need more sprinkles in my life.

Chocolate Glazed Chocolate Chip Donuts

Adapted from Gingerbread Bagels

Makes 12-15 donuts

For the donuts:

2 cups cake flour (or all-purpose)
3/4 cup sugar
2 tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
3/4 cup buttermilk
2 eggs, lightly beaten
2 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

For the chocolate glaze:

3/4 cup milk chocolate chips
3/4 cup semi sweet chocolate chips
6 Tbsp unsalted butter, softened
2 Tbsp corn syrup
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

Sift together the cake flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a large bowl.

Add in the buttermilk, lightly beaten eggs, melted butter and vanilla extract. Gently mix the ingredients together, until just combined.  Don’t overmix.  Fold in the chocolate chips.

Grease a doughnut pan with cooking spray. Using a spoon, fill each mold 2/3 full with batter.

Bake for 7-9 minutes, and let the donuts cool in the pan for 5 minutes, then invert onto a wire cooling rack.  Continue process with the remaining batter.

To make the glaze, put the milk chocolate chips, semi sweet chocolate chips, butter and light corn syrup in a microwavable bowl. Microwave the mixture for 30 seconds, then stir, microwave for another 30 seconds, stir and continue doing this until the mixture is melted and smooth.  Set the chocolate glaze aside for 5 minutes.

Dip each donut into the chocolate, then put back on the rack.  Watch out for drips.  Decorate with sprinkles if desired, and let the glaze dry, about 10-15 minutes and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

