Classic Hummus

My grandma sends me crossword puzzles from the newspaper every week, and this time she drew this on the envelope.  It’s the Chinese character for love, isn’t that adorable?  Thanks Nana!

Unlike my affinity for bread pudding, I can pinpoint the start of my love for hummus.  I was in high school, and looking to branch out to new protein sources in one of those teenage phases where decisions about diets change weekly.  Thankfully, this one stuck.

The first hummus recipe I ever tried to make on my own never mentioned the word tahini, and contained entirely too much cumin.  It sucked.  A Lebanese friend of mine was gracious enough to step in and keep me from ever making that awful recipe again by providing me with a new one.

Which I dutifully recorded on an index card, then copied into this charming little Totoro notebook.  This is where I keep all the recipes given to me by other people, until they become digitized here that is.

I’ve made this hummus so often that now, I don’t even need the notebook anymore, because it’s all stored in my brain capsule.

I love this recipe because it’s so simple, yet so delicious.  Sometimes I like to add roasted red peppers or substitute roasted garlic for the fresh, but the base is always the same, and always scrumptious, even without the extra flavors.

In other news, Luke and I are headed to CT this weekend for his first ever high school reunion.  This should be interesting…

Classic Hummus

Makes about 2 cups

Two 15oz cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed*

¼ cup tahini

½ cup water

1/3 cup lemon juice

1 Tbsp olive oil

3 cloves garlic, peeled

1 tsp salt

roasted red peppers (optional)

 In a blender or food processor, whip tahini and water together.  Add in all other ingredients and puree until creamy.  If too thick, add extra lemon juice to thin it out.  Transfer to an air-tight container and store in the refrigerator.  The hummus will keep for up to two weeks.

*you can peel the skins off the chickpeas to make the hummus creamier.  It’s time consuming, but if you like your hummus super creamy, you might think it worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

