Peanut Butter Banana Bread Pudding

Since I was late with my Hop Day pictures last week, I’m going to give you a double dose this week.  It’s always a fortuitous moment when I go to photograph Izzy while she’s lying in her bed and she stirs and gives a huge stretch.  I’m not sure why bunny stretches amuse me so much, especially since they’re kind of weird looking.

Here’s a shot of her being cozy in her bunny bed.  She’s been lying down in the evenings more as the weather gets warmer, and it’s freakin’ adorable.  She’ll even lie down in her litter box.

I promised myself I wouldn’t gush about our bunny for too long on this post, because there’s bread pudding to talk about!

I love me some bread pudding.  I don’t remember when I first tried it, but for some reason I’ve always been drawn to it.

I like to buy this really rich cinnamon swirl bread at Lyman Orchards that makes the most fantastic bread pudding (and french toast) but I didn’t have any on hand when I made this recipe, so I used challah, which is still a wonderful bread that I would have eaten in large chunks if this bread pudding wasn’t made.

Bananas and peanut butter are one of my favorite afternoon snacks, and I’m surprised it’s taken me so long to work it into a dessert.  The custard is laced with melted peanut butter and mashed bananas, and then I upped the ante even more by adding sliced bananas throughout.

Just be warned that if you put bananas on top like I did, they will oxidize and get darker.  They still taste good, but they aren’t the most attractive pieces of fruit to look at.  With that in mind, Happy Hop Day!

Banana Peanut Butter Bread Pudding

Adapted from Imagelicious

Makes one 9X9” pan

2 Tbsp unsalted butter

2/3 cup peanut butter

2 cups milk

4 large eggs

1/3 cup sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

6 cups cubed challah, or other sturdy bread

2 medium bananas, one mashed, one sliced

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Grease an 8X8” or 9X9” square pan and set aside.
Melt peanut butter and butter in a medium saucepan over medium low heat until fluid.  Remove from heat and whisk in milk, then whisk in eggs, sugar, vanilla, mashed banana and some of the banana slices.
Toss mixture with diced bread and let sit 10 minutes.  Spoon the mixture into prepared pan place remaining banana slices over bread, if desired.  Bake for about 50 minutes, until golden on top and set.  Let pudding sit for at least 30 minutes before serving.  Store leftovers in the refrigerator.

Leave a Reply

