White Chocolate Cherry Scones

It’s weird living in a suburb as a recent graduate.  As May pushes forward, I watch the town become repopulated by college students coming home for summer break and think about when that was happening in my life.  I can’t believe it’s almost been one year since I graduated.

Don’t worry though; I’m not wallowing in nostalgic pity.  I was happy to graduate.  Going to college in the same town I grew up in allowed to me be in school without forming any emotional attachments.  To me, it was the same it had always been, whether I was a student or not.  My family still lives there as well, so I can go back and visit whenever I want…if ever I want.

It was in college that this whole obsession with baking got started.  Five seniors sharing one kitchen, and I tried to get as much time in as I could.  Yes, I did set the oven on fire once when a cake I made overfilled its pan.  I handled it with grace and dignity, and thankfully, the fire department did not get involved.

I made scones for the first time in that kitchen too.  They were apple cheddar scones, and I couldn’t believe that I had made something so delicious.  These scones are pretty darn good too, definitely a close second in my opinion, but only because of how much I love the combination of green apples and sharp cheddar.

The tartness of the dried cherries and the sweetness of the white chocolate meeting in a flaky, but soft dough is heavenly.  You could also make these with dried cranberries or blueberries.

I also promise that they won’t overfill their cookie sheets and light your oven on fire.

White Chocolate Cherry Scones

Adapted from My Baking Addiction

Makes 8 scones

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/3 cup sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, chilled and cut into ½” pieces
1/2 cup dried cherries; chopped
1/2 cup white chocolate chips
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 large egg
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

turbinado sugar for topping (optional)

 Adjust oven rack to lower-middle position and preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

In a medium bowl, mix flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add the butter to flour mixture and use your fingers to work in butter (mixture should resemble coarse meal), then stir in dried cherries and white chocolate.
In a small bowl, whisk heavy cream and egg until smooth; whisk in vanilla.  Stir heavy cream mixture into flour mixture until large dough clumps form. Use your hands to press the dough against the bowl into a ball.  The dough may be sticky in places, and there may not seem to be enough liquid at first, but as you press, the dough will come together.

Place on a lightly floured surface and pat into a 7- to 8-inch circle about 3/4-inch thick. Use a sharp knife to cut into 8 triangles; place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper or a silicone mat, about 1 inch apart. Sprinkle with turbinado sugar if desired.  Bake until golden, about 15 to 17 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes and serve warm or at room temperature.

Leave a Reply

