Noodles with Peanut Sauce & Chicken

Here’s my mom and me.

She’s the wonderful lady who has nurtured me through my 20+ years of life.  I stopped living with my mom once I went to college (I lived with my dad during vacations because my mom moved to PA with my stepdad) so even though I’m young, I’ve had time to reflect on our relationship.

Though our relationship had its rough patches, (what teenage girl doesn’t have rough patches with her mom) I have come to appreciate all she did, and still does for me.  I hope someday I can become as good a mother as she is.  I think I’m doing a pretty good job with Izzy so far….

Yes, I know mothering a rabbit doesn’t count.  But you have to start somewhere to hone those fine-tuned mom skills.  Like how to deal with your child (aka bunny) when they misbehave, though our current strategy will have to be tweaked since it involves locking the “child” in a cage.

So why am I posting about noodles on Mother’s Day?  Well, why not?  No, actually, I do have a legitimate reason.  It is a Chinese tradition to eat noodles on your birthday, as noodles symbolize long life.

I’m raising this bowl of noodles to my mom, and all the moms out there, to say thank you for all their hard work in raising us kids, I hope you all keep it up for a long while yet.  Happy Mother’s Day!

Noodles with Peanut Sauce & Chicken

Adapted from Barbara Bakes and Steamy Kitchen

Makes 3-4 servings

For the chicken:

1 large boneless, skinless chicken breast

1-2 garlic cloves, finely minced
1 tsp finely grated fresh ginger
1 tsp rice vinegar

1 Tbsp soy sauce
2 tsp brown sugar
1 Tbsp peanut butter
½ tsp sesame oil

For the noodles:

12 oz thin egg noodles, soba, or thin spaghetti

1/4 cup peanut butter, preferably chunky

2 Tbsp soy sauce
2 Tbsp sesame oil
1 Tbsp rice vinegar

chopped scallions & sesame seeds for garnish

Prepare the marinade for the chicken first.  In a medium bowl, combine the garlic, ginger, rice vinegar, soy sauce, brown sugar, peanut butter, sesame oil and whisk to combine. Set the marinade aside.

Cut the chicken breast into bite sized chunks. Add the chicken strips to the marinade and mix well. Refrigerate 1 hour or for up to overnight.

Cook the noodles/pasta according to the package’s instructions.  Meanwhile, set a large skillet over medium high heat and add one Tbsp peanut oil (or any other veggie oil).  When the oil is hot, add the chicken and sauté until cooked through, about 5-10 mins depending on their size.  Transfer cooked chicken to a plate and set aside.  If you’d like to add veggies to this dish, I added mushrooms, saute them now until tender, then transfer them to the chicken plate.

When the noodles are done, strain them and run them under cold water.  Combine the peanut butter, soy sauce, sesame oil and rice vinegar in a small bowl and whisk to combine.  Put the noodles in the hot skillet and pour the sauce over them, tossing to coat evenly.  Add in the chicken and veggies if using and stir to warm through.  Serve with chopped scallions and sesame seeds.

Leave a Reply

