Dulce de Leche Brownies

I am a sucker for anything caramel-related.  I’d probably eat the foods I hate the most if they were drenched in caramel sauce…though I guess vegetables (because whose least favorite food isn’t a vegetable?) in caramel sauce would be kind of weird.

Ok, so that example got away from me.  Obviously, I am trying to convey my adoration for caramel, be it a sauce, in a candy bar, or swirled into another baked good. I love it all.  Luke does not.  How am I supposed to marry this person?!?!

Just kidding.  It means more caramel for me of course!  And to keep myself from sitting around eating dulce de leche from the jar with a spoon, I decided to put it to better use, wrapped up in chocolate, so that maybe, just maybe, the man who’s not so crazy about caramel will enjoy a great dessert with me.

Mission accomplished.  I was surprised that the dulce de leche on top baked into a hard crust, but a caramel crust is better than no crust.  Maybe it was because I used store-bought (I know, I know, but I was lazy and the jar was already open).  To make your own dulce de leche for this recipe, click here.  These brownies are sure to please the chocolate-caramel lover inside us all.

Dulce de Leche Brownies

Adapted from Tracey’s Culinary Adventures

Makes one 8X8” pan

½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter

6 oz bittersweet chocolate, roughly chopped (or in morsel form)

¼ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

¾ cup sugar

3 large eggs

¼  tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup dulce de leche, store-bought or homemade

 Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a medium saucepan, melt butter and chocolate chips over medium heat until smooth. Stir in cocoa powder and sugar. Add eggs, one at a time, beating to incorporate after each addition. Add salt and vanilla. Fold in flour until just combined.

Pour half of the brownie batter into a greased 8×8″ baking dish.  Spoon 1/2 of the dulce de leche over the brownie batter in small clumps. Use a butter knife to swirl it into the brownie batter.

Pour the remaining half of the brownie batter into the pan and smooth. Scoop the remaining dulce de leche in small clumps over the surface of the brownie batter and swirl with a butter knife.

Bake for 40-45 minutes until the center is just set or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the brownies comes out clean.

Allow to cool completely before slicing.

Leave a Reply

