Rosehip Jam Coffee Cake

Can I tell you guys a secret?   I love breakfast.  Big secret right?  But seriously, I think breakfast food is amazing and can unequivocally state that it is my favorite meal of the day.

Sometimes I go to bed hungry just so I can eat breakfast immediately after getting up.  That’s dedication.

There are very few breakfast foods I don’t like, though they do exist.  I am not a fan of oatmeal (the texture is like like gruel, though I do like baked oatmeal) nor any sort of sausage or bacon.  Obviously what I love most are breakfast baked goods.

I love how baked goods at breakfast can also be snacks throughout the day, as well as dessert.  Such versatility!

You made be wondering what the jar in my pictures is.  It’s rosehip jam, which my Nana gave me on my most recent visit to see her.  Rosehip jam is made from rosehips, the tiny red fruit of the rose plant. It doesn’t taste like roses at all, but has a very mild, fruity taste.  I wanted to put the jam to good use, and I think this coffee cake certainly accomplishes that.  Don’t have rosehip jam?  No problem, use whatever jam or jelly you’d like.

Rosehip Jam Coffeecake

Adapted from Scarletta Bakes

Makes one 9X13” pan

For the cake:
8 Tbsp unsalted butter, softened
1 cup sugar
3 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cup all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp cardamom
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup sour cream
2/3 cup rosehip jam (or the fruit-based jelly or jam or your choice.)

For the crumb topping:
1 cup packed brown sugar,
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
5 Tbsp unsalted butter, chilled, cubed

Preheat oven to 350°.

Line a 9″ x 13″ baking pan with parchment paper, or grease with cooking spray and set aside.

Sift the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cardamom and salt together in a medium bowl and set aside.

In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs and vanilla, beating until just incorporated. Continue mixing and add the dry ingredients, alternating with the sour cream, until a uniform batter has formed. Pour the batter into the lined or greased pan, being sure to distribute it evenly across the pan and smoothing the top. If you’re working with a jelly as I did, I recommend stirring the jelly in a bowl until it has broken up a little and isn’t quite so solid and gelatinous. Stirring will simply make it easier for you to drop and swirl the preserve on the cake. Once you have a ‘looser’ jelly to work with, spoon it in six large spots onto the top of the cake.  Use a butter knife to cut through the jelly drops and create a swirl pattern. Once your jelly is arranged, set the cake aside to rest for a moment.

In a small bowl, use your fingers to combine the butter, flour and brown sugar for the topping into a uniform crumbled mixture. Spread the topping over the jellied cake and bake for 28-30 minutes or until a cake tester inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean.  Let cool for 10-15 mins and serve!

Leave a Reply

