Dirt Cake

This is a nice spring themed dessert that goes wayyy back for me.  When I asked Luke if he knew what dirt cake was, he replied, oh you mean worms and dirt?

Crickets.  Sure?  I guess?  Yes, it turns out dirt cake and worms & dirt are one in the same.  I happen to like my title better.  I don’t know how keen I’d be on eating a dessert with worms in the title.  Even if they are the gummy kind.

My mom used to make this dessert when I was growing up.  If she made if during the spring, she’d clean out a flower pot and put it in there for added effect.  I would have put it in one too, only all my pots are currently occupied by herbs.

But I should back up.  What is dirt cake?  It’s layers of Oreo cookie crumbs and a cream cheese/pudding/whipped cream mixture all stacked together parfait style.

Sometimes there are gummy worms dispersed throughout.  Sadly, I didn’t have any on hand, so I couldn’t include them.  When they are in the cake, I tend to eat the cake part first and hoard all the gummies for later.

The original recipe that I got from my mom calls for Cool Whip, but I couldn’t find any at my grocery store, so I subbed homemade whipped cream for it.  I think it tasted better, but that’s just because homemade whipped cream is amazing.  And only adds to the amazingness that is dirt cake.

Dirt Cake

Recipe from my mom

Makes about 12 servings

1 package Oreo cookies (the regular kind, not Double Stuffed)

½ stick unsalted butter

8oz cream cheese

¾ cup powdered sugar

two 3.4oz packages instant vanilla pudding

2 ¾ cups milk

12 oz Cool Whip (or homemade whipped cream)

gummy worms (optional)

In a food processor, crumble the cookies until finely ground and set aside.  In a large bowl, cream together butter, cream cheese and powdered sugar.  In another large bowl mix the instant pudding powder with the milk to create your pudding.  Add the pudding into the cream cheese mixture and stir to combine.  Fold in Cool Whip or whipped cream.  In a serving bowl (mine was a 2.75 quart Pyrex dish but I made a half recipe) layer cookie crumbs and pudding mixture, beginning and ending with cookie crumbs.  Refrigerate for 1-2 hours before servings, then store leftovers in the fridge.  If using gummy worms, add them just before serving, as they will get very hard if refrigerated.

Leave a Reply

