Nutella Cheesecake Pumpkin Muffins

It’s been kind of hot in MA the last few days.  And I am not a summer person.  Especially not in an apartment without air conditioning.

The only up side is I get to see a lot of this.

Izzy is lying down on her side and belly more often to cool off.  There’s nothing to make me forget that my bare legs are sticking together than a little black bunny flopping over and spreading out on her little paws.

Luckily, or not so luckily, the heat streak is ending today.  I’m happy about it.  As cute as Izzy is, I’d rather not start sweating while kneading bagel dough or checking on roasted potatoes.

Or making muffins.  I loooooove muffins.  I love them even more when they have a secret filling.

And if that secret filling involves nutella, I’ll eat so many I won’t care about that huge blister on my big toe I got from walking too far in flip flops.  Damn hot weather shoes.

But muffins make it all better.  I know it’s not pumpkin season, but these guys are delicious any time of year.

Nutella Cheesecake Filled Pumpkin Muffins

Adapted from Tasty Kitchen

Makes about 20 muffins

For the muffins:

4 large eggs

1-½ cup sugar

1 can (15 oz.) pumpkin puree

1-½ cup vegetable oil

3 cups all-purpose flour

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

For the cheesecake filling:

8 oz cream cheese, softened

½ cup Nutella

1 large egg

Preheat oven to 375°F. In a large bowl, beat eggs slightly. Add in sugar, pumpkin and oil and beat thoroughly. Add in remaining dry ingredients and mix until smooth.

In a small bowl, beat together cream cheese, Nutella and egg until smooth.

Grease a 12 cup muffin tin, or place lines in the cups. Place about 2 tablespoons of pumpkin batter into each liner, then 1 tablespoon of Nutella batter, then top with 2 more tablespoons of pumpkin batter. Bake for 18-22 minutes.  Transfer to wire rack to cool completely.  Remove from muffin tin and enjoy!


2 Comments on “Nutella Cheesecake Pumpkin Muffins”

  1. What a interesting combo of flavours! Izzy is CUTE! I just made a pumpkin and chocolate muffin, it was delicious. Love the idea of the a secret filling of Nutella! Happy Baking and hope the heat wave ends soon!

  2. bashfulbao says:

    It is interesting, but it works! I very much enjoy finding flavor combinations that seem strange at first but turn out fantastic. Izzy and I are both relieved that the heat wave is over, though I’m excited to see her on her belly more in the summer! I hope that doesn’t make me a bad person….


Leave a comment