Shrimp Scampi

Monday, oh Monday.  How quickly you sneak around the corner and leer at me.  I’ve seen a posting fad on other blogs that make Monday more interesting, it’s called Meatless Mondays.

Bloggers try to cook tasty, easy meals without the use of meat at least one day a week.  Seems simple enough, and I would totally do it…if the man of the house would eat any sort of meat alternatives.  I’m not exactly a lover of tofu or tempeh myself, but I’d eat them.

I love beans and lentils and other foods like that, but trying to sneak a chickpea past Luke would be difficult.  So I don’t try.  I fantasize about all the awesome lentil recipes I’ll make one day with my legume loving children, but until that day, I’ll be making my dishes with meat.

Or shrimp.  Another fun fact: Luke loves shellfish but hates fish, and I love fish but hate shellfish.  The only overlap in our venn diagram is shrimp.  I do like shrimp, but only if it’s cooked.  I don’t do shrimp cocktail…cold shrimp creeps me out.

And shrimp scampi is just so good.  I like this version because it is light and lemony, while still maintaining a good balance of garlic and shrimp flavors.  Plus it’s easy to prepare and is on the table in less than 30 minutes.

Shrimp Scampi

Makes 3-4 servings

Adapted from The Girl Who Ate Everything

12 oz linguine (or any other pasta really)

3 Tbsp unsalted butter

2 1/2 Tbsp olive oil
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 pound large shrimp (about 16 shrimp), peeled and deveined

1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1/3 cup fresh parsley leaves, chopped
1/2 lemon, zest grated
1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice

Boil a large pot of salted water, add the linguine according to the directions on the package.
Meanwhile, in another large skillet, melt the butter and olive oil over medium-low heat. Add the garlic. Saute for 1 minute, stirring constantly to keep the garlic from burning.  Add the shrimp, salt, and the pepper and saute until the shrimp have just turned pink, about 5 minutes, stirring often. Remove from the heat, add the parsley, lemon zest, and lemon juice.  Toss to combine.

When the pasta is done, drain the cooked linguine and then put it back in the pot. Immediately add the shrimp and sauce, toss well, and serve.

Leave a Reply

