Lemon Ricotta Cookies

Yesterday I got some very sad news.  I did not get my dream job.  It was quite disappointing, and upset me greatly, but as you can read, I’m being quite judicious in my reaction.

Though this throws a monkey wrench into the life plans Luke and I were tentatively forming, we’ll get through it.  With lots of mutual love and support and cookies.

I still have a couple small embers of opportunity out there in the teaching world, but I’m not getting my hopes up.  Instead, I’m going to focus on what I can do to be more hirable in the long term, and work on personal projects that give me purpose in the short term.

So I’ve got my positive face on.  Also, I just whipped up a batch of extremely tasty cookies, full of lemony goodness, so how can I be sad?

I just need to keep channeling some good vibes and not get down on myself.  And bake like crazy.

Lemon Ricotta Cookies

Adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod

Makes about 2 dozen cookies

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
½ tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
1/4 cup (half stick) unsalted butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 cup ricotta cheese
1 1/2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 lemon, zested

Glaze:

3/4 cup powdered sugar
1 ½ Tbsp lemon juice

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat. Set aside.

In a medium bowl combine the flour, baking powder, and salt. Whisk until ingredients are combined. Set aside.

In a large bowl, combine butter and the sugar. Beat the until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add the egg and beat until incorporated. Add the ricotta cheese, lemon juice, and lemon zest. Beat to combine.

Stir in the dry ingredients. Spoon the dough (about 1 tablespoon for each cookie) onto the baking sheets. Bake for 12-15 minutes, until slightly golden at the edges. Remove from the oven and let the cookies rest on the baking sheet for 2 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack and cool completely.

To glaze the cookies: combine the powdered sugar and lemon juice in a small bowl and whisk until smooth. Spoon about 1/2-teaspoon onto each cookie and use the back of the spoon to gently spread. Let glaze harden for about five minutes and serve.

Leave a Reply

