Chai Spiced Muffins

It seems that because of this humble little food blog, my family always expects me to arrive laden with baked goods every time I visit them.  Now, most of the time, this is true.  I am just dying to unload some of my extra goodies on them.

But sometimes I make things that don’t travel well.  Or I just haven’t made anything right before the trip.  You should see the looks I get when I show up empty handed.  I feel like the worst food blogger ever.

Luckily, my current trip was not one of those occasions, though I thought about trying to pull something for April Fool’s Day.  I’m not much of a prankster though, and Luke’s attempt to inform me that he was quitting his job did not inspire me.  Good effort, but kind of weak.

Anyway, this time I came bearing many goodies, including muffins.

Muffins, in my opinion are one of the best breakfast foods/snacks.  These muffins are wonderfully spiced, though I think the cardamom was a little too pronounced for my taste.  Feel free to cut it down to ¼ tsp if you’re not too fond of cardamom, like me.

Other than that, these moist little beauties are simple in their composure, yet complex in flavor.  Definitely a great treat to add to your morning food repertoire.

Chai Spiced Muffins

Adapted from My Baking Addiction

Makes 12 muffins (I got 15 somehow)

1/4 cup (half stick) butter
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup light brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp ground cardamom
1/2 tsp ground allspice
1/4 tsp ground black pepper
3/4 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup milk

Preheat the oven to 425°F. Lightly grease a standard muffin tin, or line with 12 paper muffin cups.

In a medium bowl, cream together the butter, vegetable oil, and sugars until smooth.

Add the eggs one at a time, beating to combine after each one.

Stir in the baking powder, baking soda, spices, salt and vanilla. Mix well to fully incorporate.

Stir the flour into the butter mixture alternately with the milk, beginning and ending with the flour and making sure everything is thoroughly combined.

Using a large scoop (about 3 tablespoons), divide the batter evenly into the prepared pan, filling the wells until nearly full.

Bake the muffins for 15 to 17 minutes, or until they’re a pale golden brown and a cake tester inserted into the middle of one of the center muffins comes out clean.

Cool in pan for 10 mins, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

 

Leave a Reply

