Cinnamon Chip Scones

I have been singing “Somebody That I Used To Know” all day.  Why won’t this song leave me alone?  When I first heard it, I didn’t even like it, and now I can’t extract the damn melody from my brain.

I’ll just relegate myself to the kitchen and sing to my scones.  They won’t scoff at me the way the rabbit does.  Or at least I think that’s a scowl.  It certainly seems to be a critical look at the very least.

So, I guess the moral of the story is that scones don’t judge.  They are unconditional lovers, no matter what your singing ability.

Even if you’re singing at 7am and trying to wake up your significant other/friend/rabbit.  Just present him/her with a scone after your performance.  I tried it out on dear KA this morning, and it totally worked.

Izzy was less amused, go figure.  I gave her a carrot instead.

Cinnamon Chip Scones

Adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod

Makes 8 scones

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 Tbsp baking powder
3 Tbsp granulated sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
5 Tbsp cold, unsalted butter, cut into 1/4-inch cubes
1/2 cup cinnamon chips (I use Hershey’s cinnamon chips from Amazon)
1 cup heavy cream

For the cinnamon sugar topping:
1 Tbsp heavy cream
1/4 cup granulated sugar
2 tsp ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper or a Silpat and set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, sugar, cinnamon, and salt. Quickly cut in the butter, using your hands or a pastry blender. Mix until mixture resembles coarse meal, with some larger butter lumps. Stir in the cinnamon chips. Pour heavy cream over the ingredients and stir with a spatula until dough begins to form. Don’t over mix.

Transfer dough to a floured countertop and knead dough by hand just until it forms a ball. Form scones by patting the dough into a 3/4-inch thick circle. Cut the scones into triangles or use a biscuit cutter. Press scraps back together and cut additional scones until dough is used up.

Place scones on prepared baking sheet. In a small bowl, combine sugar and cinnamon. Using a pastry brush, brush scones lightly with heavy cream. Sprinkle scones with cinnamon/sugar mixture. Bake scones for 12-15 minutes, or until scones are light brown. Cool scones on a wire cooling rack and serve.

 

Leave a Reply

