Sweet Potato & Lentil Stew

Today Luke and I have our final cake tasting.  Though the rivers of free cake will soon staunch their flows, I’ll be glad to have another thing crossed off our wedding prep list.

The whole process of wedding planning has been very smooth for us so far.  I’m sure things will get crazy as the date approaches, but we’re doing our best to get everything mapped out as early as possible.  Last night we also decided on what our wedding favors will be.  Getting it done!

Since days for making soups comfortably are starting to dwindle, I figured I’d post a stew while I still can.  Not that weather deters me from making what I want.  I’m churning that ice cream in winter, and hovering over that hot pot of stew in summer.  What can I say, my stomach is spoiled.

 Luckily, I was craving a hearty stew in the middle of February, and had a lonely sweet potato eyeballing me.

I was very surprised by how this stew turned out, because, well, it was supposed to be a soup.  I halved the original recipe, and maybe that threw things off, because what I got some more of a sweet potato lentil spread.  Which was awesome and delicious, and…interesting.  I ate it like hummus.  Definitely my best kitchen flop so far this year.

Sweet Potato & Lentil Stew

Adapted from Portuguese Girl Cooks

Makes about 6 servings

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 medium onion chopped, about 1 cup

1 cup chopped carrot, about 2 large

3 cups peeled and chopped sweet potato, about 1 1/2 lbs

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/8 tsp cayenne powder

1/2 heaping Tbsp curry powder

1 cup dry red lentils

6 cups vegetable or chicken stock

1/4 cup heavy cream or half and half

1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice

Salt and pepper to taste

In a heavy bottomed saucepan (at least 5 qt) over medium heat, heat the olive oil and add the chopped onion. Cook until onions are soft and translucent, about 5 minutes. Add the chopped carrot and sweet potato. Mix to coat with the olive oil and cook for 5 minutes, mixing occasionally. Add in the garlic, cayenne powder, and curry powder, and cook for 1 minute until fragrant. Add in the lentils and mix until they are all coated, about 1 minute.

Add in the stock, and reduce heat to medium-low, and cook until vegetables are tender and the lentils are cooked (exploded), about 15-20 mins. Remove from heat and puree with immersion blender, or puree in blender in batches.

Once it is all pureed, add in the cream and combine. Season with salt and pepper. Add in the fresh lemon juice and serve.

Leave a Reply

