Lemon Poppy Seed Waffles

So it’s St. Patrick’s Day, and I’m posting yellow waffles.  That’s close enough to green right?

I’m not really the type to decorate/make holiday specific treats, except for maybe Thanksgiving and Christmas, but that’s because of how integral food is to celebrating those holidays.

Yes, I know about corned beef and cabbage, and adding Guinness or Stout to practically any baked good, but none of those appeal to me.  For the record, I am 0% Irish, so I’m ok with not being into St. Patrick’s Day food.

It’s Saturday though, so that means a more elaborate breakfast is on the menu.  Since it’s finally spring-ish, the lemony freshness of these waffles is sure to revitalize you if, like where I am, it’s been dark, cloudy and drizzly the last few days.

Of course you can still make them if the sun’s been shining, you lucky person you.  I shouldn’t complain though.  I finally got a pair of real rain boots about a month ago and I’ve been waiting to use them.

Whatever the weather on your St. Patrick’s Day, I hope you have a lovely time, whether you do anything festive, or not.  You could always add a swirl of green food coloring to these waffles, I bet that would look just dandy.

Lemon Poppy Seed Waffles

Adapted from The Nesting Project

Makes about 10 square waffles

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

6 Tbsp sugar

2 Tbsp poppy seeds

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

3 large eggs

1 1/4 cups buttermilk

1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted

1 Tbsp lemon zest

 Whisk first 6 ingredients (flour-salt) in large bowl to blend. Whisk eggs, buttermilk, melted butter and lemon peel in small bowl to blend. Add buttermilk mixture all at once to flour mixture and whisk until just blended. Let mixture stand for 15 minutes. Meanwhile, preheat waffle iron according to instructions.  Spoon batter into waffle iron and cook until done to your liking. Top with your favorite toppings.  I love mine with blueberry jam.

Leave a Reply

