Brown Sugar Buttermilk Pie

Isn’t this the cutest little begging face you’ve ever seen?  Starting around 7pm, Izzy starts making trips into her cage and striking this pose to remind me that feeding time is approaching.  Cutest reminder ever.

Today is a special day.  It’s Pi(e) Day!!

An entire day celebrating the grand splendor that is pie.  I forget sometimes what a wonderful dessert pie is.  It scares me slightly that since Thanksgiving, I’ve only made one pie besides this one.

Oh boy, I need more pie in my life.  Especially pie like this.

The last time I made a buttermilk pie, the results were less than spectacular.  The filling didn’t set properly, and the top bubbled up unevenly, which created a very sad looking pie.

So, I was a little hesitant to make another, but I don’t like little fears or disappointments lording over me, especially in the kitchen.  So I tried again.

And I’m soooo glad I did.  This pie is fabulous, and made my apartment smell amazing.  The filling turns into a smooth, velvety custard with hints of cinnamon and nutmeg, and the top of the pie caramelizes beautifully.  I may be in love with this pie.  Ok, maybe I’ve just rediscovered my love of pie.  I’m definitely going to try and put it in dessert rotation more often.

Brown Sugar Buttermilk Pie

Adapted from Every Day Food

Makes one 9” pie

For the crust:

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for rolling

1 tsp sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup (1 stick) cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

¼ cup ice water

For The Filling:

3 Tbsps all-purpose flour

3 large eggs plus 2 large egg yolks

1 cup packed dark-brown sugar

1 1/2 cups buttermilk, room temperature

1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

6 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted

To make the crust: Stir together flour, sugar, and salt.  Cut in butter and knead with pastry cutter (or your fingers) until the mixture resembles coarse meal, with a few pea-size pieces of butter remaining. Sprinkle with half the water and gather the ball of dough together.  Add the rest of the water, a little at a time, as needed for the dough to hold together.  Form dough into a disk, wrap tightly in plastic, and refrigerate until firm, 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. On a floured surface, roll out the dough to a 12-inch round. Place in a 9-inch pie plate, fold overhang under, and crimp edges. Prick dough all over with a fork. Place a piece of aluminum foil over dough and fill with coins or dried beans. Bake until edge is light golden, about 15 minutes; remove from oven and take off parchment and weights.

To make the filling: In a large bowl, whisk together flour, eggs, and brown sugar until smooth. Whisk in buttermilk, nutmeg, and cinnamon until combined. In a small saucepan, heat butter over medium heat, swirling pan occasionally, until golden brown and most of the foam has subsided, 8 to 10 minutes. Immediately whisk into buttermilk mixture. Pour filling into pie shell and bake until set but still slightly wobbly in center, 25 to 35 minutes. Let cool completely on a wire rack, 2 hours, before serving.  Store in the refrigerator.

 

Leave a Reply

