Potato Chowder with Smoked Gouda

Early March is still technically winter right?  So it’s totally ok to still be eating soup.  You probably wouldn’t be surprised to know that I eat soup all year round.

Soup is my go-to dinner food, right after bread with cheese and hummus.  I know I’ve already griped about how Luke doesn’t like soup, so I don’t get to make it as often as I’d like, etc.  It’s not that Luke doesn’t like soup, he only likes the heavy, cream based ones that sit the bottom of your stomach.

I on the other hand, like my soups light and brothy, though I add milk to thicken them up a little on occasion.  Still, I can’t do cream based soups…it’s like slurping a weird, savory, chunky milkshake.  I’ll pass.

I call this soup a chowder because I added milk to make it creamier and a bit heavier than a regular stock based soup.  This pleased Luke, and I managed to tolerate it, because I’m just a good person like that.

Also because it contains smoked gouda, a cheese after my own heart.  Feel free to use other cheeses though, if you don’t have gouda on hand.

Potato Chowder with Smoked Gouda

Adapted from Cooking Light’s Annual Recipes 2002

Makes 4-6 servings

2 Tbsp olive oil

2 leeks, thinly sliced

2 cloves garlic, minced

4 cups Yukon Gold potatoes, peeled and cubed

2 large carrots, peeled and chopped

4 cups chicken stock

2 bay leaves

1 cup milk (I used 2%)

½ shredded smoked gouda

½ tsp salt

½ tsp black pepper

Heat the oil in a dutch oven over medium high heat.  Add leek and garlic, and sauté for 3 minutes or until tender.  Stir in potato, carrots, stock and bay leaves and bring to a boil.  Cover the pot, reduce heat, and simmer for 20 minutes or until potato chunks are tender.

Discard bay leaves (I forgot to and ended up eating bay leaf…not too tasty).  Using an immersion blender, or a regular blender, puree the soup until it reaches desired consistency. I like to leave a few chunks of potato intact.

Return soup to pot if you used a normal blender and stir in milk, gouda, salt and pepper.  Cook over medium heat until the cheese melts.  Serve with extra cheese on top if desired.

Leave a Reply

