Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes

Today’s post is short and sweet because I am spending the day interviewing for the job I would die for.  Though I suppose that would be counter productive.  Either way, I’m hoping today goes really well, because I want this job soooo bad.

Last night, Luke and I had our first cake tasting for our wedding cake at a bakery in Danvers, MA.  It was pretty awesome, and we figured out how we’d like the cake to be decorated. We have another tasting this weekend, and then we’re going to decide between the two bakeries.  I can only eat so much free cake and buttercream frosting and still be in good shape for my upcoming dress fitting.

So that’s my life update.  And no life update is complete without a healthy dose of pancake.  After all, I am a pancake making machine.  If I do somehow manage to get this job, do you think my colleagues would think I was really weird if I brought in pancakes for lunch?  It might happen, because I want to eat these pancakes ‘round the clock.  Oatmeal cookies in pancakes form?  Ummm, yes please.

 

Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes

Adapted from Joy the Baker

Makes about 20 pancakes

2 eggs

1 1/2 cups flour

heaping 1/2 cup old fashioned oats

2 Tbsps brown sugar

2 tsps baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

3/4 tsp ground cinnamon

healthy pinch of nutmeg

2 cups buttermilk

1 Tbsp pure maple syrup

4 Tbsps butter, melted and cooled

½ tsp vanilla extract

½ cup chocolate chips, cinnamon chips or raisins (or any combo therein)

In a large bowl beat eggs. Add buttermilk, butter, maple syrup and vanilla and mix well. Add flour, oats, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, spices and salt. Mix well until mostly smooth. Fold in chips or raisins and let batter set for a few minutes.

While the batter is resting, heat griddle or pan over medium low heat. Add a teaspoon of oil to the pan or spray with cooking spray.
When the griddle is hot, pour ¼ cup of batter onto the griddle. Cook on the first side until bubbles that form start to pop. You can also gently lift up the pancake to make sure the bottom is not overcooking, if it is, lower the heat.  Flip the pancake over with a spatula and cook until golden brown. Repeat until all the batter is gone. Serve with your favorite toppings!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

