Baked Buffalo Drumsticks

If you know me, then you know this post will contain none of the usual breakdown of textures and tastes, aromas and appearances.  Nope, this was completely and utterly a recipe for Luke. Aren’t I sweet?

Or spicy?  Ok, I’m nice.  The sad reason I cannot enumerate on the experience of consuming this dish is that I could not in fact consume it.  I am of the feeble strain of people whose spice tolerance calls for all dishes mild.  If it burns the tongue and sizzles the taste buds, I can’t have it anywhere near my food.

If some extra hot does get manage to find its way to my tongue, you can expect tears, excessive nose blowing, noisy complaining…generally, a very grumpy Anna.  You don’t want to know what happened the time I ate sushi in Tokyo and didn’t realize the chefs put the wasabi on for you…

While I can’t vouch for all the depth of flavor, Luke did say they were good.  I trust him to only say that of actually good food, so don’t take it lightly people.  If you can handle the heat, I’m sure you will find these delicious.  And then you can laugh at me and my pitifully sensitive mouth and relish in what I can never have.

Baked Buffalo Drumsticks (or wings)

Adapted from Bon Appetit February 2012

Makes enough to feed a crowd, or Luke for a week

For the sauce:

2 tbsps unsalted butter, melted

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1/2 cup hot pepper sauce (I used TJ’s jalapeno sauce)

For the chicken:

5 lbs chicken wings, tips removed, drumettes and flats separated (I used drumsticks, so I didn’t separate anything)

2 tbsps vegetable oil

1 tbsp kosher salt

½ tsp freshly ground black pepper

To make the sauce, mix first four ingredients in a small saucepan; let stand for 5 mins.  Whisk in hot sauce and set over a warm burner.

To make the wings, preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Set a wire rack inside each of 2 large rimmed baking sheets.  Place all ingredients in a large bowl; toss to coat.  Divide chicken between prepared racks and spread out in a single layer.  Bake until cooked through and skin is crispy, 45-50 mins.  Remove from oven and let cool for 5 mins.  Toss with buffalo sauce and serve immediately.

2 Comments on “Baked Buffalo Drumsticks”


Leave a Reply

