Red Wine Chocolate Cake

Well, the first dress my ladies tried on did not end up being perfect, nor was it on sale.  In fact, the dress we liked the most was the last one thrown into the dressing room, and I was the model!  Check it out.

Here are some other contenders.  I love the one shoulder dress, but you have to imagine it in a vibrant deep blue.  It flows so well, and is very supportive and comfortable, plus each dress will be made based on the measurements of my bridesmaids, so they’ll be sure to fit each of them well.

Isn’t this the loveliest group of ladies you’ve ever seen?  I think so.

Isn’t this the loveliest little loaf cake you’ve ever seen?  Mmmmmm.

Neither Luke nor myself drink wine, so when a bottle was left to us after a dinner with Luke’s boss, I knew it wanted to be bake it into a cake, or stew some meat with it.

 I made this cake to bring to a Super Bowl party at the home of the wine leaver; it seemed fitting to return the favor.

This cake is light, with just a hint of fruitiness from the wine.  It’s quite chocolaty as well, but is light enough to not be super decadent.  I considered eating a slice for breakfast, but something about it seemed wrong.  You can go ahead though, who says you can’t eat chocolate for breakfast?

Red Wine Chocolate Cake

Adapted from The Pastry Affair

Makes one 9×5 loaf cake

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
3/4 cup light brown sugar
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
3/4 cup red wine
1/4 cup sour cream
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons cornstarch
3/4 cup cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt

 Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.  Grease a 9×5-inch loaf pan and set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, cream together the butter and sugars. Add the egg and vanilla extract and beat until smooth. Beat in the sour cream and wine.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, cornstarch, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Add to wet mixture slowly, mixing until just incorporated.

Pour batter into prepared baking pan and bake for 50-60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean and the cake bounces back slightly. Allow to cool in the pan for 10 minutes, before inverting the cake onto a cooling rack to cool completely.

 

 

 

2 Comments on “Red Wine Chocolate Cake”

  1. […] try to plan meals ahead of time, and since I still had wine leftover after making this cake, I decided that I would use it to stew some meat.  I’m not ready for beef bourguigon, nor did I […]

  2. […] try to plan meals ahead of time, and since I still had wine leftover after making this cake, I decided that I would use it to stew some meat.  I’m not ready for beef bourguigon, nor did I […]


Leave a Reply

