Cream Cheese Filled Carrot Cake Muffins

Today I’m posting about something that both parties of Bashful Bao can get behind.  While I do enjoy making scrumptious dishes involving ingredients Luke doesn’t eat, and savor them immensely, I mainly try to accommodate both our palates.

I’m thinking this one’s right up that alley.  We both love carrot cake (including Izzy…if she was allowed to eat cake), so when I had extra cream cheese filling from my stuffed red velvet cookies, I knew this recipe had to happen ASAP.

Oh man…these muffins are goood.  Like finding the prefect bridesmaid dress at the first store, and it’s on sale good (fingers crossed).

I wish I had had some of these to bring down to CT.  I was so busy preparing my dad’s birthday treats, I completely forgot to make something to bring for my mom and stepdad, since we stay with them while in CT.  After dinner last night, my stepdad asked, “So Anna, what did you bring us for dessert?”  I shamefully hung my head and admitted that I had no goodies stashed away for his sweet tooth.  Some food blogger I am.

Hey, I figure he has my mom to bake for him, right?  Oh well.

I would totally eat these muffins for breakfast, lunch and dessert.  That’s probably why they disappeared so fast.  I will definitely be making them again in the near future, they’re practically an excuse to eat carrot cake all day long.  Best excuse ever.

Cream Cheese Stuffed Carrot Cake Muffins

Adapted from Scientifically Sweet

Makes 12-15 muffins, depending on size

1 ½ cup all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
1 ½ tsp ground cinnamon
½ tsp each ground allspice and ground coriander
¼ tsp each ground nutmeg and ground ginger
¼ tsp salt
8 oz finely grated carrots (about 2 cups or 2 large carrots)
2/3 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
2 large eggs
¼ cup sour cream
1/3 cup canola oil

For the filling:
4 oz cream cheese, at room temperature
2 tbsp sugar

Preheat oven to 350°F and line a standard 12-cup muffin tin with paper liners or grease the cavities with cooking spray and set aside.

In a medium bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, spices and salt. Whisk ingredients together to blend evenly and set aside.

Make the filling now so that it is ready once your batter is done. In a small bowl, beat cream cheese until smooth. Add sugar and beat until very smooth and creamy, about 30 seconds; set aside.

In a large bowl, stir together grated carrots and both sugars. Let stand no more than 3 minutes to allow the sugar to break down the carrots and release some liquid. This helps to soften the carrots slightly so that you don’t end up chewing on stringy, cuticle-like bits in your cupcakes. Beat eggs into carrot mixture, one at a time, until well blended. Beat in sour cream and oil until well incorporated. Add flour mixture to carrot mixture all at once and fold gently using a wide spatula with few strokes until mostly incorporated, but do not over mix.

Scoop of spoon batter into prepared muffin cups, filling them half-way. Using the back of a small spoon, create an indent in the center of each portion of batter and place one teaspoon of filling into the indent. Divide remaining batter among muffin cups, being sure to spread it out and cover the top and all sides of the filling to prevent it from leaking out during baking. If you don’t need use all of the filling, that’s ok. I’d rather you not overfill them. Maybe you can make these cookies with the extra?

Bake until a toothpick inserted into the edges (someplace where there is no filling) comes out clean, about 20 minutes. Transfer muffins to a wire rack to cool completely.

 

 

One Comment on “Cream Cheese Filled Carrot Cake Muffins”

  1. Kelly says:

    OMG ANNA. Carrot cake and red velvet are my two favorites…


Leave a Reply

