Salted Peanut Brownies

Today is my dad’s birthday.  I know, you’re thinking “all she’s posting are brownies??!!”   But hey, it’s better than having a poached chicken mark your happy day on your daughter’s food blog.

It seemed appropriate given that my dad is the biggest chocoholic I know, and that he too is a maker of brownies.  You could say he taught me everything I know about brownie baking…and now I’m taking things a step further and adding peanuts to the mix.

My dad is a simple guy, very easy to please.  When I called him to ask what he wanted for his upcoming birthday, he replied, “make me something from your blog.”  And I thought, why would I make you something you’ve already seen and that I’ve described in remarkably eloquent prose?  Why not make you something mind-blowing that has yet to grace the webpages of Bashful Bao?

So that’s what I’m doing.  I can’t tell you what I’m making yet, but it involves chocolate, obviously.

Luke and I are going down to CT this weekend, in part to celebrate a slightly belated birthday with my dad, but also because it will most likely be the only time all my bridesmaids are gathered in the same city.  We’re going dress shopping, and I’m so glad that all I have to do is sit around and judge.

But more on that later.  I hope you enjoy your virtual birthday brownies, Dad.  And don’t worry, your actual treat is much, much better!

Salted Peanut Brownies

Adapted from Cinnamon Girl

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter

1 ¼ cups semisweet chocolate chips

3 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped

1 cup plus 2 tbsp sugar

3 eggs

1 ½ tbsp instant coffee granules (optional)

2 tsps vanilla extract

½ tsp cinnamon

2/3 cup all purpose flour

1 ½ tsps baking powder

½ tsp salt

1 1/3 cups peanut butter chips (or more chocolate chips)

2/3 cup salted peanuts, chopped

 Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease/butter a 9” square baking pan.  Melt butter, semisweet chocolate chips and unsweetened chocolate in a medium saucepan over low heat.  Stir until completely melted.  Remove from heat.

 Whisk sugar, eggs, instant coffee granules, vanilla extract and cinnamon in a large bowl until just combined.  Whisk in a few tablespoons of the warm chocolate to temper the eggs, and then whisk in the rest.

In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt, then add it to the chocolate mixture.  Stir in the peanut butter/chocolate chips and chopped peanuts.  Pour batter into prepared pan and bake for about 40 mins, or until a tester inserted into the center comes out clean.  It will still seem a little wiggly in the center, and that’s ok.  Cool completely on a wire rack, then chill in the refrigerator for 3-4 hours.

Leave a Reply

