Meyer Lemon Cake

Whoa, it’s Leap Day.  That’s exciting?  It’s also hump day, Wednesday, that middle day that tells us to keep going, we’re almost done with the week after this day.  As a hump day keep me up, here’s a cute bun pic.  Maybe this’ll become a thing.  “Hop Day” with Izzy.

Another way to revitalize yourself as winter drags on into March is winter citrus.  My mom took a trip to CA a while ago and brought back some meyer oranges from her friend’s backyard.  Gosh I wish I had fruit trees at my beck and call.  How neat would it be to go just go outside your front door and pick some amazingly fresh fruit?!?!

Maybe someday when Luke and I actually own property.  Right now my dreams of lush gardens and orchards are beings buoyed by the tiny shoots of the herb garden I’m starting.  Hey, they’re green and alive, so who cares if they’re only 1 ½ inches tall.  Not me, I can see the fresh thyme, dill and rosemary (among others) already.

Anyway, back to lemons.  My mom, being the lovely lady that she is, saved a few of the lemons for me, and I wanted to do something nice with them.  So I made a cake.  An almond and meyer lemon scented cake.

I added lemon curd in between two layers of the batter, but I couldn’t really tell if it made a difference in the way the cake tasted.  Which was awesome, by the way.  Super moist, with just the right balance of almond and citrus.

I enjoyed this cake on a fancy place accompanied by a steaming cup of afternoon tea.  And also off my bare palm at 8am. Oh yeah.

Meyer Lemon & Almond Cake

Adapted from Always with Butter

1 cup cake flour

1/3 cup almond flour (or you can finely ground almonds in a food processor)

½ tsp baking powder

½ tsp baking soda

1/8 tsp kosher salt

1 ½ sticks (3/4 cup) unsalted butter, softened

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

zest of 2 meyer lemons

1 tsp almond extract (or vanilla extract)

2/3 cup sour cream

 

Grease/butter a 9” springform pan.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Combine all dry ingredients (flour-salt) in a medium bowl and set aside.  Cream the butter and sugar until fluffy.  Add the eggs one at a time, stirring until incorporated after each one.  Add zest and almond extract and stir to combine.  Gradually mix in dry ingredients, then fold in the sour cream.  Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 35-45 mins, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.  Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Note: I added swirls of lemon curd after adding a little batter, then poured the rest on top.  After the cake had cooled, you could not tell that the curd had been added, so don’t feel like you need to do this…it was just a little experiment.

Leave a Reply

