Chicken Enchiladas

I had an interview yesterday.  These last two weeks have been a whirlwind of interviews for me, and I find it gets easier with each one.  I no longer get nervous beforehand, though I can’t seem to stop my face from turning red during every single one.

I guess talking to strangers makes me blush.  I can feel it start in my ears and spreads inwards towards my cheeks.  I hope my interviewers don’t notice…hopefully they think I’m excited, because I really am.  Teaching Chinese is my dream job, so I’m hoping with all I’ve got that I can get a school to pay me to do it.

First thing I did when I got home after the interview, after feeding Izzy the grumbly rabbit, was change into my pajamas.  (My interview was at 4:30, so please don’t think I’m crazy and putting on pjs at like noon.)

What I would have given to have a plate of these enchiladas waiting for me.  Sadly, I made them a little while ago, and they’re all gone now, but they really would have hit the spot.  Shredded chicken sautéed with onions in rich spices, tossed in a tortilla, covered in cheese and baked to perfection.  How is that not an amazing meal?  I’ll definitely be making these again the next time I cook a whole chicken.

Chicken Enchiladas

Adapted from Pass the Sushi

Makes about 3-4 servings

1 tablespoon peanut oil

2 small white onions, chopped

1 tablespoon dried parsley

1/2 tsp dried oregano

1 tablespoon chili powder

1/2 tablespoon cumin

salt and ground pepper to taste

2 garlic cloves, minced

one 8oz can tomato sauce

2 cups shredded cooked chicken

1/4 cup water (if needed)

1 cup monterey jack cheese, divided

1/2 sour cream

8 flour tortillas

one 10oz can red enchilada sauce

 Preheat oven to 375.  Heat oil in a large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat. Once heated, add onions and sauté for 5 minutes until beginning to soften, then add next six ingredients and allow to cook for another 1-2 minutes before adding tomato sauce.  Increase heat until boiling, then reduce, add chicken and allow to simmer for 20 minutes. If it begins to get too dry add water in small amounts. Add 1/2 cup cheese maintaining heat until it has melted.  Remove pan from heat and stir in sour cream. Place a scoop of the mixture onto a tortilla and roll. Repeat for each tortilla. Place each in a 9×13 inch pan sprayed with cooking spray seam side down.

After all tortillas have been filled and rolled, pour enchilada sauce over pan and top with other 1/2 cup of cheese. Bake in preheated oven until cheese just begins to brown, about 20 minutes. Allow to cool for 10 minutes and then top with cilantro and green onions.

Leave a Reply

