Green Tea Swirled Angel Food Cake

So this is my 100th post.  I think that’s something that deserves a little celebration, right?

I knew I wanted to post a cake today, and since this one features my most favorite ingredient, I figured that would be most fitting for the occasion.

I’ve posted an angel food cake recipe before, but as you can see, the addition of the all-wonderful green tea powder takes this cake to a whole new level.  I didn’t want an entire matcha angel food cake, so I decided to throw in a swirl.

It’s so pretty.  I’d just stare at this cake all day if it wasn’t so delicious.  Because of how light angel food cake is, I end up snacking on it, eating it for breakfast…it’s definitely not relegated to the same realm in which decadent desserts dwell.

Thus, it tends to disappear very quickly.  If you don’t have matcha, feel free to sub in cocoa powder for a chocolate swirl.  I just like using matcha whenever and wherever I can.  Here’s to another great 100 posts!

Green Tea Swirled Angel Food Cake

Adapted from Cooking Light Annual Recipes 2004

1 cup sifted cake flour

1 ½ cups sugar, divided

12 large egg whites

1 tsp cream of tartar

¼ tsp salt

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 ½ tsp fresh lemon juice

2 tbsp green tea powder (matcha)

 Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Combine flour and ¾ cup sugar in a medium bowl.  Place the egg whites in a large bowl; beat with a mixer at a high speed until foamy.  Add the cream of tartar and salt, and beat until soft peaks form.  Add the other ¾ cup sugar, a little at a time, beating until stiff peaks form.  Beat in the vanilla extract and lemon juice.

Fold in the flour mixture ¼ cup at a time with a spatula.  Gently spoon half the cake batter into a separate bowl.  Sift matcha over half the batter and fold in.

Spoon half of the plain batter into an ungreased 10” tube pan, spreading evenly.  Top with half of the matcha batter, repeat layers and swirl batter together with a knife.  Bake for 50 mins, or until the cake springs back when lightly touched.  Invert pan, and cool completely.  Remove from pan with a small metal/plastic spatula.

Leave a Reply

